While each title transfer situation requires submitting particular forms, the overall process is the same for titling vehicles in MD. If you’re transferring a title from out of state, you could submit the forms and car title fees by mail to the MVA’s Out-of-State Title Unit at: 6601 Ritchie Highway, Glen Burnie, MD 21062.
Transfer request for recently purchased or gifted vehicles must be completed at your local MDOT MVA office, although the new title issued will be mailed to you.
Before applying for registration, you must obtain sufficient car insurance coverage from a vehicle insurance company licensed in Maryland. You'll need a policy that covers:
If you're new to Maryland and have coverage from an out-of-state provider, you'll need to contact them to have them convert your insurance policy to a Maryland one. If your current provider doesn't offer that, you can shop for new coverage here. Maryland law is extremely strict on uninsured motorist, there could be penalty fees for each lapse of insurance - $150 for the first 30 days, $7 for each day thereafter, among other fines and penalties including registration privileges.
If you don't have your vehicle title because it's in the possession of a lien holder, you can have them send a copy of the title to the MDOT MVA. The MDOT MVA customer service center will need a fax number to contact your lienholder in order to obtain the title copy. Once that documentation is received, someone from the customer service center will contact you to complete the required steps outlined above.
While boat trailers and all other wheeled vehicles are registered with the MDOT MVA in Maryland, registration of vessels must be done with the Department of Natural Resources. Boat registrations must be done in person at a service center by completing the DNR B-240 form. The registration is issued for two years and the expiration is always on December 31st.