Place your Connecticut registration order online, using our fast and secure web application.
As we review and validate your information, we'll send you updates by email and text.
We'll ship your Connecticut title and/or registration to the address you've specified when placing your order.
Connecticut drivers are the latest to enjoy a simpler way to renew or replace their vehicle registration card. Aside from our license plate renewal services in CA, NY, FL, PA, MD, and OH, eTags now offers hassle-free, online CT registration renewal in the New England area. Avoid fines for expired tags, just get online renew registration in minutes.
eTags has unmatched customer support, with title and registration specialists to assist as well as resolve issues that may stop you from getting your tags. Contact us by phone, email, or your own personal account profile. The eTags blog is another way to get your questions answered regarding state laws, regulations, required documentation and more.
With eTags, renewing your vehicle registration online is simple and fast. No appointments or walk-ins needed, no waiting for you turn. All we need is the last six digits of your vehicle identification number (VIN) and your CT license plate number.
Just choose the Renew Your Registration option and your address, so we can deliver your renewed tags at your doorstep.
Vehicle registration renewal is required every two years in the state of Connecticut. But, those over 65 years old can renew every year. Many drivers wait to get their renewal in the mail, but please note you may not get it if you haven’t changed your address with the CT DMV after a recent move.
Even with a renewal notice, you’re still held responsible for renewing your Connecticut registration on time, before it expires. Otherwise, you may be fined.
Your vehicle registration certificate got lost, stolen, misplaced, or damaged? Get a registration card replacement online with eTags! Just submit the last six last digits of your VIN number as well as your license plate number. Our online system will find your vehicle and wait for you to confirm we have the right one on file. Finally, just give us the address you want your duplicate registration to be sent and you’re done!
In Connecticut, most vehicles require a smog test except for a few that are exempt. A smog inspection isn’t required for vehicles model year 2018 and newer, or models from 1996 and older. Electric (not hybrids) vehicles don’t need emissions testing in CT either, nor do motorcycles, farm vehicles, or those weighing over 10,001 lbs.
Once your vehicle passes the emissions test, you get a vehicle inspection report for your records. If your car failed the emissions inspection, you must repair it and retest it within 60 days of the first smog check. Please note that sometimes an emissions test extension is possible.
In the Constitution State, all registered vehicles must carry a minimum of liability insurance coverage. If you don’t carry car insurance at any time, your vehicle tags can be suspended or completely revoked. The minimum requirements in Connecticut include bodily injury and property damage insurance coverage:
Connecticut drivers pay an average of $1,346 a year, or $112 a month, for minimum-coverage auto insurance which is 29% higher than the national average of $87 a month.
At eTags, we pride ourselves on turning complex frustrating vehicle paperwork procedures into simple, and convenient few-clicks transactions. That’s why, even our payments options are convenient. Choose from any major credit card, Apple Pay, or Google Pay.