When you register your vehicle with the MVA for the first time, your initial registration date becomes your expiration date and the date by which you must renew Maryland car registration every one or two years 60 days prior to expiration. However, Maryland boat registrations expire on December 31 and must be renewed every other year.
Registration renewal fees vary based on several factors in including the weight of the vehicle, it’s intended use, whether or not you have a specialty plate, and more. You can use the eTags system to see if you are in your renewal period and what amounts are owed. The MVA does not charge a penalty for late renewal but you can be fined by another agency if your vehicle is in a public area without valid tags.
A registration flag can be placed on a vehicle by an authorized entity because of an unresolved issue such as unpaid parking tickets, speeding or red light violations, insurance compliance failure, and more. The MVA vehicle registration flag must be removed before you can renew. Please contact our support team if you need information on how to resolve registration flag.
You are required to have your vehicle undergo emission testing every two years and it usually coincides with your Maryland tag renewal period. About 60 days before the deadline by which your vehicle should be tested, you will receive a test notice from the MVA. You can find a testing station near you by clicking here.
All motor vehicles besides boats, ATVs, scooters, and mopeds are required to be insured with a minimum of $30,000 for bodily injury, $15,000 property damage, and other requirements based on the number of people on the policy. A flag may be placed on your registration or it may be suspended if minimum requirements for insurance are not met and reported to the MVA.
If you have already renewed with the MVA, registration replacements can be ordered if your registration card, stickers, or plate become lost, stolen, or damaged. This request can be made online as well as by mail or in person with this form. The replacement fee for the card and sticker is $5. If you need a replacement plate, the fee is $20.