Cars, pickups, motorcycles, campers, electric vehicles, RVs, SUVs, and most vehicles must be registered in Connecticut. In fact, if you’re caught driving and don’t have your registration certificate or your car is missing a license plate or two, you risk getting a fine between $150 and $300 and a potential suspension of your driver’s license.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
About 45 days before your Connecticut registration expires along with the two license plates, you’ll get a notice by mail or email reminding you to renew your registration. If you don’t renew before your car registration expires, you’ll be charged a late fee of $10 that’ll be added to your registration fee.
If you get a registration suspension notice due to lack of auto insurance, you can resolve the suspension by paying a $200 fine or by disputing it
Don’t risk forgetting, surely you’ve got enough on your to-do list. Renew your Connecticut vehicle registration online with eTags. The process is quick, convenient, and easy. Just submit a few details about your vehicle such as license plate number and the last six digits of your VIN, as well as contact information so the paperwork can be sent right to your door. Renewing your CT car registration online means no appointments, no lines, no taking time off work to complete the task.
SEE ALSO: MOVED TO CONNECTICUT? HOW TO PROCESS YOUR OUT-OF-STATE TITLE TRANSFER
Before renewing make sure there are no compliance issues with your vehicle that can prevent you from processing the renewal. Things like emissions testing, parking tickets, or lapse in auto insurance. As CT requires continuous car insurance on a registered car, you can be looking at fines if you don’t carry an auto insurance policy. If you’ve changed insurance providers, it can trigger a notification from your old carrier to the CT DMV making it look like you don’t have car insurance. In that case, just mail a copy of insurance card to the DMV’s insurance compliance unit at 60 State St., Wethersfield CT 06161.
To resolve property taxes compliance issues, contact your local tax collector to make payments so they can clear you online (The CT DMV doesn’t accept paper tax releases anymore)
Another issue that can stop you from renewing your registration is if you haven’t paid your property taxes. In that case you must contact the city and make your payment. Remember without renewing your vehicle registration, you’re not allowed to drive which will affect many areas of your day-to-day. As mentioned before unpaid parking tickets will prevent your registration renewal. And if your emissions testing requirements aren’t up to date, you won’t be able to renew. Plus, you’ll get charge a late fee of $20.
Check out eTags for your registration renewal online!