Selling Used Vehicles in California? If you are planning on selling your used vehicle in the Golden State, you must comply with the adequate paperwork and bureaucracy.
In fact, The California DMV has several rules and regulations that every Californian driver must follow.
It could be overwhelming to catch up with all the details. However, once you follow these steps, things could get easier than you expected.
Learn how to sell used vehicles in California. It’s all about doing the right thing and that’s the only secret.
Save Money on Your Auto Insurance Bill, Compare Quotes Fast
Selling a used vehicle in California
Once you decide to sell your used vehicle, The California DMV requires sellers to provide the following documentations:
This legal document of ownership and transfer requires the signature of the seller.
If there’s any lien holder on the vehicle, they are also required to sign it.
Know that the seller is responsible for filling out the release of liability within 5 days after the transfer took place.
Smog certificate (If applicable)
Be proactive and find out whether you are eligible to provide a smog certificate when selling a used vehicle in California.
The smog vehicle inspections laws are very strict. Note that sellers with a vehicle model of 1975 and older are not required to have smog inspections.
If you renewed your registration within the last 90 days, you won’t need to submit a smog certificate either.
The same applies for sellers whose vehicles are under 4 years old. You don’t have to submit a smog certificate.
In California, vehicles that are 10 years old or older are not required to provide odometer disclosure.
If the seller’s vehicle is over 10 years old, the California DMV requires owners to add it on the Certificate of Title or on the Vehicle/Vessel Transfer and Reassignment form.
California release of liability
You are required by law to notify the California DMV if you sell or even transfer your used vehicle to a third party.
Sellers must fill out the Notice of Transfer and Release of Liability (NRL) within 5 calendar days from the date of the sale.
Duplicate registration in California
Sometimes it happens that you (the seller) don’t have the certificate of title for several reasons including:
- Lost Title,
- Stolen Title, or
- Damaged Title
The good news is that you don’t need to obtain a Duplicate Title Certificate before selling your used vehicle.
Just fill out the Application for Duplicate or Paperless Title form in lieu of your missing title and hand it to the buyer.
If you still want to apply for a replacement/duplicate of your certificate of title, visit our California Car Titling: How To Replace A Lost Car Title article.
Vehicle history report
Try to play safe while selling a vehicle not only in California but also in any other state.
So, before you decide to sell your used vehicle to any potential buyer order a vehicle history report.
This report has all the information about your car, from your accident history to your odometer disclosure.
It could back you up since buyers tend to request that prior to making any buying decision. The more documents you provide, the better!
Transfer Your California Title Online Now
Once you comply with all the requirements, you’ll be ready to make a successful vehicle title transfer. Know that it gets easier but you may still face obstacles along the way.
However, did you know that eTags offers California vehicle title transfers online? It’s fast, easy, and hassle free.