A new year is upon us, and for many of us, that means making sure we are fully aware of the new traffic laws. As in 2018, the California Department of Motor Vehicles has listed new traffic laws for all local drivers to follow.
These regulations came from recent changes in the basic road maintenance and rehabilitation program on local and statewide infrastructure. For the most part if you are operating a vehicle within the state, expect costs to rise.
Either locals want to register their cars or simply renew their registration, the program charges a fee that ranges from $25 to $175 depending on the estimated price of the vehicle.
Here are the new traffic laws that cover several issues such as:
Save Money on Your Auto Insurance Bill, Compare Quotes Fast
Cannabis in Vehicles
It is prohibited for people to smoke or ingest marijuana products while driving and/or driving as vehicle passengers.
Buses and Seatbelts
Taking effect July 1, 2018, buses that are equipped with seat belts are required to have their passengers wearing proper safety belts. That also includes children between 8 and 16 years old, who are prohibited to be seated on a bus without wearing proper seat belts or child passenger restraint system in compliance to the federal safety standards.
Passenger for hire: From July 1, 2018, it will not be legal for a person to drive/ride a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.04% or more when a passenger for hire is in the vehicle at the time of the offense. Bear in mind that those drivers who failed to comply with the law could face the risk of having their driver’s license suspended or, as in the case of commercial driver license holders, get an immediate disqualification.
Parking Violations for Registration or Driver License Renewal
The new year has come up with a new process for those low-income Californians with pending parking violations to repay their fines and penalties prior to the parking violation being reported to the DMV. It also makes it possible for drivers with pending parking penalties to obtain and even renew their driver licenses.
Disabled Person Parking Placards and Plates
There are also changes taking place in the management of the Disabled Person Parking Placard and Disabled Person License Plate Program, as applicants are required to disclose true full name and birthdate. Remember that under the new law applicants are only allowed to request replacement disable parking placards up to four in two years without getting a medical certification.
Motorcycle Training Courses
DMV is authorized to accept a certificate of satisfactory completion of any motorcyclist-training course/program approved by the CHP as a substitute for the commonly required motorcycle skills test. If you are applying for an original motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement under 21 years of age, you will be required to complete a novice motorcyclist-training program.
Road Maintenance and Rehabilitation Program
Starting January 1, 2018, every applicant must be aware of the new registration or renewal Transportation Improvement Fee (TIF), which ranges from $25 to $175 depending on the estimated price of the vehicle. By July 1, 2020, the law will also authorize the DMV to charge a Road Improvement Fee for zero-emission vehicles with a model year of 2020 or later.
H/T Fox News