On the eTags blog, we get a lot of questions regarding traffic violations, suspended licenses and citations. But since we’re not lawyers, we do not give advice that borders on legal knowledge. We still like to be helpful, even when it’s not on a topic that we’re experts in. So in the matter of attaching an unassigned license plate or tag in Florida, we’ve discovered a few law firms websites and are transferring some of those details found.
In the Sunshine state, every license plate and registration sticker have to lawfully be assigned to the vehicle it’s attached to. It’s considered a criminal offense if you knowingly place an unregistered tag or plate on a vehicle or even mobile home. The eTags registration specialists learned penalties for this type of second-degree misdemeanor can include jail time (up to 60 days), up to a $500 fine and up to six months of probation. It may even result in a permanent criminal record.
The penalties listed above are the statutory maximum sentence for this type of traffic criminal offense. But, for most first-time offenders, according to details online, they’d be found guilty of the offense, pay court costs and fines and get a permanent criminal record. This adjudication of guilt for attaching an unassigned plate or tag in Florida means you’ll permanently barred from expunging or sealing your record.
Experts online are saying that this type of criminal offense is hard to substantiate in court, since the prosecution would have to prove that the defendant him/herself attached the tag or plate or that they knew these weren’t assigned to a specific vehicle.
Save Money on Your Auto Insurance Bill, Compare Quotes Fast
Should you need assistance regarding attaching an unassigned license plate or tag in Florida, research the topic furthermore and look for local lawyers that can help with your case. As mentioned before, eTags specialist have just compiled a few details from research online to give you an overview of the topic.