Louisiana DMV Title Transfer Guide
How To Transfer A Vehicle Title In Louisiana
Whether you’re a new resident with a new vehicle or a lifelong resident gifting a vehicle to a family member, you’ll need to know how to transfer the title that comes with your vehicle. Transferring a car title may seem complicated, but the following FAQ can help make that process a bit simpler.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
The Louisiana Department of Public Safety’s Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) oversees the registration and titling of all vehicles within the state. The OMV has offices located in each parish throughout the state and most locations are able to transfer car titles, as well as handle a broad range of other transactions.
Title Transfer Requirements
What do you need to transfer a car title? For starters, you’ll need to fill out the right dmv title transfer form.
You can download or request a Vehicle Application form (DPSMV 1799) from your local OMV office.
If you’re wondering how to fill out transfer of title form, simply follow the instructions listed on the form itself.
You’ll also need the vehicle’s current registration certificate as well as a notarized bill of sale and a signed and notarized certificate of title. For vehicles less than 10 years old and trucks under 16,000 pounds, you’ll also need to include and odometer disclosure statement.
If the vehicle whose title is being transferred is also under a leasing or financing agreement, you’ll need to provide a UCC-1 Financing Statement or security agreement.
How Much Is a Title Transfer?
At this point, you’ll want to know how much does it cost to transfer a car title. Currently, the OMV charges a $68.50 title fee, along with an $8 handling fee. Lost, damaged or destroyed titles also cost $68.50 to replace.
Title transfer fees can also increase due to credit card fees and various surcharges imposed by parish governments. It’s a good idea to contact your local OMV office for specific pricing and fee information.
How Can I Transfer a Car Title to a Family Member?
Knowing how to transfer a car title to a family member is crucial for successful title transfer process.
Not only will you need a Vehicle Application form, but you also need to complete, notarize and submit an Act of Donation of a Movable form.
How Can I Transfer a Car Title From A Deceased Owner?
If you’re wondering how to transfer a car title when owner is deceased, the following information may help shed some light on the process.
You’ll need to gather and submit the following:
- Vehicle Application form.
- Certificate of title.
- Current certificate of registration.
- A notarized bill of sale or Act of Donation of a Moveable.
- Proof of a satisfied lien, if applicable.
- Payment for all applicable fees.
- The owner’s valid photo ID.
The title transfer process may also depend on how the estate is being handled. For a small succession filed through the Department of Revenue, for instance, you’ll need an Affidavit of Small Succession and a descriptive list of property featuring the vehicle in question.
For a succession filed through the courts, you’ll only need a certified final judgment of possession that includes the disposition of the vehicle.
What if I Lost My Car Title?
Lost titles are a surprisingly common occurrence, whether it simply involves misplaced paperwork or a more serious cause such as a fire or flood. Knowing how to transfer ownership of a car without a title can help bring you one step closer to owning your vehicle.
A typical duplicate title request involves filling out and submitting a Vehicle Application form (DPSMV 1799). This form includes a “duplicate title affidavit” section that needs to be notarized or signed in front of an OMV or Public Tag Agency employee.
When requesting a duplicate title, you’ll also need to submit a registration certificate for the vehicle in question. You’ll also need to pay all applicable fees.
What if the New Owner Fails to Transfer the Title?
You may be thinking to yourself, “My car title signed but never transferred. What do I do?”, keep in mind that the new owner has 40 days from the date of purchase to complete the title transfer without penalty.
If it’s been more than 40 days since the sale or gifting of your vehicle, contact the OMV for more information.
To safeguard yourself against any penalties or fines, you should complete and submit a Notice of Transfer of Vehicle as soon as possible.
This step quickly alerts the OMV to a recent title transfer, flagging the vehicle’s OMV record until the new owner properly transfers the title.
Transferring a Title With a Lien
If you’re financing or leasing a vehicle, your lender will attach a lien on the title to prevent it from being sold. If you want to transfer your title after paying your vehicle off, you’ll need to have the lien removed before you can proceed any further.
You’ll need to submit a Vehicle Application along with your current registration, a title that either reflects the lien release or a letterhead from your lender noting the satisfied lien. You’ll also need to pay the $76.50 lien release fee in addition to any other fees and surcharges.
Louisiana DMV Hours And Contact Information
For more questions regarding how to transfer a car title in the state of Louisiana specific to your situation, for LA DMV hours of operation, or to find the DMV location nearest to you, visit the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety Services official website by clicking here.
Common Questions About Louisiana Title Transfer
Are there any questions about transferring a car title that we didn’t cover?
We are constantly updating our content and welcome your feedback. Leave us a comment and let us know any other questions you might have regarding how to transfer a car title in the state of Louisiana.