Oklahoma Vehicle Registration Renewal Guide
How to Renew a Car Registration in Oklahoma
The Tax Commission of Oklahoma will mail out a notice to you before your registration is set to expire. If you would like to receive this notice through email you can go to the CARS website and sign up to receive paperless notices.
You must renew your Oklahoma vehicle registration within a month after it has expired or you will have to pay late charges. The late fees are $1 a day until the maximum amount of $100 is reached.
If you wait for over a year to renew your registration, you will have to pay the current registration fees, plus fees for an additional year, and late fees.
Residents can renew their registration online if it has been less than 10 months since their registration expired and he or she is renewing any type of standard vehicle. To renew online you will need to visit the CARS website and follow the instructions that are provided.
Renewing Your Oklahoma Vehicle Registration By Mail
In order to renew your registration in person or through the mail you will need to bring the following:
- Renewal notice or license plate number or title number or VIN
- Proof of auto insurance
- Payment for your registration renewal fees
Replacement Vehicle Registration vs. Registration Renewal
Replacing your car registration is only necessary when it has been lost or stolen. Likewise, you will only need to replace your license plates or car tag if they have been lost, damaged, or stolen. Renewals, however, must be performed by the expiration date on your vehicle registration card.
The process for renewal is different than the process for a replacement, and knowing the difference can help you acquire the proper paperwork for each situation.
How to Replace Your Vehicle Registration in Oklahoma
If you need to replace your Oklahoma vehicle registration, you can do so either in-person or by mail. You cannot, however, receive a duplicate license plate if your tags were seized and you have not paid all applicable fees. In such cases, you must also receive a release from your county sheriff department.
To renew your car registration in-person, you will need to visit your local tag office. When you arrive, you must fill out the appropriate forms as well as pay any required fees.
How to Request a Replacement Car Tag
If your car tag or license plate is lost or stolen, you may obtain a replacement either in-person or by mail. To apply for a replacement, you must do the following:
- Fill out the appropriate form(s).
- Provide proof of valid car insurance.
- Pay any applicable replacement fees. The fee for a replacement decal is $9.00 plus $1.50 insurance fee. The fee for a replacement plate and decal is $9.50 plus $1.50 insurance fee.
If you are submitting your application by mail, you should address your completed application and any applicable fees to the Motor Vehicle Division of the Oklahoma Tax Commission.
What to Do if Your Vehicle Plates or Sticker Are Stolen
Have you recently lost your Oklahoma vehicle registration? Have you been the victim of a license plate or sticker theft?
If either of these situations applies to you, you will need to request replacements. Similarly, if your plates are damaged, you should also contact your local tag office to request replacements. In Oklahoma, you may be fined for illegal operation of a motor vehicle if you do not currently possess valid plates, registration, or a license plate sticker. To avoid this, you should apply for replacement items as soon as you realize there is a problem.
If you have been the victim of a license plate or sticker theft, you should report this to your local law enforcement agency as quickly as possible. You are not, however, required to do so by Oklahoma state law. But, by filing a report, you help protect yourself from any future fraud, including identity theft and other illegal use of stolen property. If you do choose to file a police report, you should have your license plate number ready, along with any pertinent details concerning the theft.
Should You Get Rid of Damaged License Plates?
If your plates are damaged, you should follow the same procedure as you would for stolen plates or stickers. Once you have received your new plates, there’s really no reason to hang on to your old ones.
You may surrender them at your local tag agency if you choose. Doing so will ensure they are dealt with appropriately, however, surrendering your old plates is not required in the state of Oklahoma.
For any further questions regarding replacement registration, plates, or stickers, you can contact the Oklahoma Tax Commission at (405) 521-3160. Alternatively, you may acquire additional information online. Keep in mind that it is a violation of Oklahoma state law to operate a motor vehicle without valid registration, plates, or tags.
If you’ve discovered that these items have been lost, stolen, or damaged, it is imperative that you request replacements promptly.