New Hampshire Registration Renewal Guide
How to Renew a Car Registration in New Hampshire
In order to renew your registration in the state of New Hampshire you will need to take the following with you to your local Department of Motor Vehicle office:
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
- Registration renewal notice or current registration.
- Current vehicle registration.
The fees for your registration renewal will depend on the county that you live in. You are required to pay both town/city fees as well as the required state fees. The registration fee will be displayed on the renewal notice that you have received.
The state of New Hampshire requires that your vehicle undergo a safety check each year. This has to be completed within 10 days of your birth month.
This inspection has to be completed at an inspection station that has been licensed by the state. The cost for the inspection is $20 to $50.
Payments can be made to the Department of Motor Vehicles either in cash, by money order, a check, a traveler’s check, or with a Visa or MasterCard.
If you need a New Hampshire replacement vehicle registration, license plate, or license plate sticker, you’ll simply need to fill out the appropriate paperwork, take it or mail it to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), and pay the fee.
You will need to report the reason you are asking for a duplicate, so if your license plates or stickers have been stolen, it is important to report the theft to the local police department. You should obtain a police report as proof of the theft.
This guide will discuss how to take these steps and how to replace your vehicle registration, plates, or stickers.
New Hampshire Registration Replacement Forms
You can go in person to the DMV in Concord, or to any registration office or municipal agent to get a copy of the form you will need. You can also download the forms from the DMV website.
How to Get a Replacement Vehicle Registration In New Hampshire
If your registration card has been lost or destroyed, you will have to submit an Application for Copy of Registration form (Form RDMV-110). You can bring this form to the DMV in Concord, or to any registration or municipal agent office. You an also mail the form to the address provided on the from itself.
The fee for a replacement car registration is $15. Be sure to send the fee in the form of a check or money order if you are requesting the replacement vehicle registration by mail.
If you are applying in the office, you will receive your replacement registration right away. However, if you are applying by mail do not drive the vehicle until your replacement registration arrives in the mail. Otherwise, you will risk steep fines for driving without a car registration.
How to Get a Replacement Car Tag In New Hampshire
If you need a replacement car tag (plate), you will need to complete and submit an Application For Replacement Plates and/or Decals (Form RDMV-125) to the DMV office in Concord, to any registration office or any municipal agent office.
On the form, you will have to provide information about your vehicle, such as:
- The VIN.
- The plate number.
- The year, make and model of the vehicle.
Replacement Registration Fees In New Hampshire
The fee for a replacement car tag is $4. If you need to replace both plates, the fee will be $8. Once you submit the form and fee in person, you will receive one of the following:
- A temporary paper plate if you only need to replace one of two license plates. Your permanent matching plate will arrive in the mail.
- Two permanent replacement car tags (plates) if you are replacing both license plates.
Please note, a set of plates with the same number can only be ordered if one or both plates are surrendered with the application. If the plates were stolen, a new number will be issued.
You can also submit the form by mail. If you do this, ensure you do not drive the vehicle until your new plate arrives or you could be cited by law enforcement. This can lead to fines that cost much more than the fee for a replacement car tag.
Replacing a License Plate Sticker In New Hampshire
How do I get a replacement license plate sticker if mine fell off?
If you need to replace the sticker, also known as the decal on your license plate, you will need to fill out and submit the Application for Replacement Plates and/or Decals (Form RDMV-125).
You will need to provide the reason for the replacement, the vehicle VIN number, year, make and model. You can submit the form in person at your local DMV office. You will receive your replacement license plate sticker immediately.
You can also submit the form and fee through the mail. The address is provided on the form. This method takes longer, as the replacement license plate sticker will arrive via mail. So, ensure you are not going to be driving or you will risk having to pay a fine.
Replacement License Plate Sticker Fee In New Hampshire
The fee for new decals is $1.
It’s easy to obtain a replacement vehicle registration, a replacement car tag or a license plate sticker in New Hampshire. So, if yours have been lost, damaged, or stolen don’t wait to be pulled over. Replace them right away.
The Department of Motor Vehicles will mail you a renewal notice when your registration is about to expire. You will need to have this renewal notice in order to renew your registration, so if you don’t receive it or you lose it, be sure to contact the DMV as soon as possible for a replacement.
Alternatively, you may also use your current registration to renew.