Missouri Vehicle Registration Renewal Guide
How to Renew a Car Registration in Missouri
If your Missouri license plate (car tag) or sticker (tab) has been lost, damaged, destroyed or stolen, you will have to act fast to apply for a replacement car tag or license plate sticker.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
If you’ve lost your car registration, or it is somehow damaged and unreadable, you will also have to fill out an application to obtain a duplicate.
This guide will help you understand how to replace your vehicle registration, car tag or license plate sticker so you are not driving illegally.
Getting a Replacement Vehicle Registration or Car Tag
Getting pulled over and then being unable to show the law officer a valid and current car registration can end up costing you hundreds of dollars. If you’ve lost your registration receipt or it has become damaged, do yourself a favor and get a replacement.
It’s easy to do. Simply, download the Application for Duplicate Title/Registration Receipt (Form 2519) from the Missouri Department of Revenue website or go into any Missouri license office to pick up the form.
Fill out the form and sign it. If you are turning it in in person, you will pay the $12 fee and receive your replacement car registration receipt.
If you are mailing the completed and signed form, include a check for $12 to the Missouri Department of Revenue. You can mail the form to the central office address that is printed on the back of the application.
You can use your duplicate car registration receipt for legal purposes, to keep yourself out of trouble.
Replacement Vehicle Registration Fees
How much does it cost to replace your vehicle registration or license plate sticker in Missouri?
Car tags or license plates are required, but they are also a target for thieves. If your plates have been stolen, you can receive up to two sets of a replacement car tag per year for free. Although, you will have to pay a $3.50 processing fee.
The first step is to make a police report. Bring this with you to obtain your replacements for free (only pay the $3.50 processing fee).
To apply for replacement car tags, download the Application for Replacement Plates/Tabs (Form 1576) from the Missouri Department of Revenue website or go into any Missouri license office to pick up the form.
Fill out the form, stating the reason you are requesting replacements, and sign it. If you are turning it in in person, you will pay the $3.50 processing fee and receive your replacement car tags.
If you are mailing the completed and signed form, include a check for $3.50 to the Missouri Department of Revenue. Don’t forget to include your police report. You can mail the form to the Missouri Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Bureau, Po Box 100, Jefferson City Mo 65105-0100.
Replacing a License Plate Sticker In Missouri
Your Missouri license plates is required to display a tab, or sticker, that indicates the expiration year of your registration. The tabs are color coded and you receive them when you register your vehicle for the first time or renew your registration.
Unfortunately, license plate tabs are a target for thieves. If yours have been stolen, you can obtain replacement tabs from the Missouri license office.
Similar to replacement plates, you can receive two replacements each year with a police report, and you must fill out the Application for Replacement Plates/Tabs (Form 1576). State the reason you are requesting replacement stickers and sign the form in front of a notary if you are mailing it.
If you are turning it in in person, you will pay the $3.50 processing fee and receive your replacement license plate tabs. Be sure to put them on right away to avoid paying fines should you get pulled over.
Replacing a Stolen License Plate In Missouri
Theft of license plates and tabs is not uncommon. You can make it harder for thieves though by parking in well-lit areas, ensuring your plate is attached securely to the vehicle, using specialty screws that require a special tool, or using a plastic license plate cover. Just be sure the plate is still readable if you do.
If a theft does occur, make a police report and get to your local license office and apply for replacements fast so you don’t end up spending even more money in fines.
In the state of Missouri, drivers renewing their registration may be required to have a safety inspection depending on the year his or her car was made. All vehicles that are more than 5 years old will need an inspection.
You may also be required to have an emissions test, depending on the county that you live in. Currently, emissions tests are required in the following counties:
- St. Louis County
- St. Charles County
- Jefferson County
- Franklin County
If you need a vehicle inspection it is important to make sure that you have it inspected at a station that is authorized by the state—the station should be able to provide proof upon request.
The state Department of Revenue sends out a renewal notice before your registration is set to expire. This notice will tell you the date you need to renew by, the options for renewing, and if your vehicle is due for inspections.
You will need to renew the registration either before or during the month that they expire. You can renew online, in person, or by mail. Your notice will inform you as to which options are available to you.
If you wish to renew online you will need the PIN number that is on your notice if your county provides this option. To renew in person you will need to have your completed notice, inspection certificates, proof of insurance, and a tax receipt for personal property as well as the payment.