Updated on July 20, 2021
In Mississippi, if you’re late with your registration renewal, the penalty starts on the 16th day of the month (following expiration date) at the rate of 5% for the next 15 days. Then, for each additional 30 days that registration is overdue an extra 5% is charged. Once you reach the maximum penalty of 25%, you won’t get any Legislative Tag Credit.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
When it comes to getting tags for the first time in Mississippi, you have 7 business days after buying the vehicle to register. If it’s bought in a different county then where you reside, you have an extra two days to transport the car to your house or business. For those who have out-of-state license plates, you have 30 days to get Mississippi plates or pay up a penalty of $250. Keep reading for more details about Mississippi license plates procedures.
Mississippi Vehicle Registration Renewal Guide
How to Renew Your Car Registration in Mississippi
The state of Mississippi requires residents register their vehicles with the state Department of Revenue. There are no safety or emissions tests required in order to renew or register a vehicle.
The DOR will send out a registration renewal notice before your current registration expires. Once you receive your renewal notice you will be able to renew either online, in person, or by mail. If you do not receive a notice or you lose your notice you will need to renew in person at your local DOR office.
To renew your registration in person you will need to visit the local DOR office and have the following with you:
- Renewal notice or your current certificate of registration
To renew your registration through the mail you will send in your renewal notice and your payment to the address that is specified on the notice.
Online Registration Renewal in Mississippi
In order to renew your registration online you must live in one of the following counties:
- Pearl River
All online renewals are conducted through a 3rd party and there may be some restrictions imposed by the 3rd party.
How to Replace Lost Registration in Mississippi
Every car in Mississippi must be registered. If you lose the registration document, the license plate, or the decal, you need to know how to replace your Mississippi car registration.
Check out the FAQ below for all the information and tips you need to take care of business and be back on the road in no time at all.
In Mississippi, the Department of Revenue is responsible for maintaining records and issuing titles, auto registrations, and driver’s licenses. While there is a central office that you can call at (601) 923-7100, it is best to contact your local tax collector’s office for any questions that you might have.
Registration Renewal vs. Replacement Vehicle Registration
Do You need to Renew or Replace Your Mississippi Registration?
Your registration needs to be renewed annually, but you should be receiving a reminder in the mail with all the forms and information you need. You will replace your registration with you accidentally lost your registration card, had your license plate(s) disappear, or if the year decal somehow becomes damaged.
The replacement does not cost as much as renewing and ensures that you will have the right documents and tags if law enforcement pulls you over for a ticket.
Where to Get a Replacement Registration in Mississippi
Your car is registered in the county where you reside and any replacement must happen at the county tax collectors office. You can find the complete list of offices here.
The hours of operation are typically Monday through Friday 8 AM to 4 PM, but your local office may be closed during lunch or while conducting road tests. Make sure to call ahead so that you don’t waste your time. If you have a commercial vehicle, you need to go to the DOR office in Clinton, MS.
Required Documents for Registration Replacement
What documents do you need to replace a lost, stolen or damaged vehicle registration in Mississippi?
If you are missing the registration card that usually lives in your glove box, you will need to show to the tax collector:
- Your driver’s license
- Proof of insurance
- The vehicle identification number
- The license plate number
If you need new plates or to replace the car’s decal, bring the current registration document along with your license.
Online Registration Replacement in Mississippi
Can you request Your vehicle registration replacement online?
Mississippi does not offer online renewals or replacement services for registration at this time. All e-services are reserved for authorized dealerships.
Replacing a Lost, Stolen or Damaged License Plate
If you went off-roading and noticed that your license plate is missing when you get home, you will be ordering a duplicate at the tax collector’s office. If somebody stole the plates, you need to report the theft to your local law enforcement.
They need to fill out Form 76-903. If the local PD doesn’t have the form, you can pick it up at the tax collector’s office. Your plates will be reported as stolen in the police system, and you will receive new car plate numbers with a new decal. It will cost you $10.00 for the replacement plates.
Once the plates are reported stolen, you don’t want to continue driving your car with one of those plates remaining on the car, as the police can pull you over on the suspicion of driving a stolen vehicle. Take care of replacing the tags immediately.
Replacement License Plate Sticker
Can you get a replacement decal for your Mississippi license plate?
Did you know the police can pull you over for a missing decal? If yours was damaged or simply disappeared, visit the county tax collector’s office and pay $2.50 for a replacement.
Mississippi Replacement Registration Fees
How much does it cost in Mississippi for a replacement car tag?
The rates for replacing your car registration in Mississippi are:
- $10 replacement plates
- $10 replacement registration card
- $2.50 replacement decal
Should you have any further questions, you can find lots of answers to common questions with this DOR FAQ, by calling the DOR at (601) 923-7100 or emailing your local tax collector’s office.
Email addresses and contact information are listed on this contact form.