Idaho Vehicle Registration Renewal Guide
How to Renew A Car Registration In Idaho
The state of Idaho requires residents to renew their registration once yearly. You should receive a notification in the mail to remind you of your renewal date. In the state of Idaho you may renew your registration in person and in some counties you may renew online as well.
In order to complete your registration online you will need to have your driver’s license or other identification, your renewal postcard from the Idaho DMV, and a valid credit card or debit card. The website will walk you through the entire renewal process. There are instructional documents for different types of vehicle renewal available from the DMV if you need further details.
To renew your registration in person you will need to go to your local county assessor’s office. You will need to bring the following:
- Driver’s license or state ID.
- Renewal postcard from the DMV.
Idaho Registration Renewal Fees
Renewal fees in the state are based on how old your vehicle is.
- Vehicles over 7 years old: $24.
- 3 to 6 year old vehicles: $36.
- 1 or 2 year old vehicles: $48.
There may be additional fees based on the type of vehicle that you drive as well as for county taxes, county highway fees, postage fees if renewing by mail, and county administrative fees where applicable.
How to Replace Car Registration Paperwork in Idaho
Did you lose your Idaho license plates or registration certificate and need to know how to replace a vehicle registration? You have come to the right place. Read on to find out how simple it really is to make sure you have the right plates, stickers, and documentation on your vehicle.
In Idaho you will be working with the Idaho Department of Transportation and your local county assessors office. Their website is packed with plenty of information and you can talk to live person by calling (208) 334-8000 or fill out their handy online form for a fast response.
Replacement Registration vs. Registration Renewal
A replacement vehicle registration is not that same as renewing your registration.
First off, if your registration is expiring, you need to renew it and not replace it. Renew your Idaho car registration by visiting your local county assessors office or by using their online IDT portal.
You need to replace your registration when you lose the expiration sticker that is typically affixed to your front plate, have a plate stolen or it is lost, or if your registration certificate is missing. All three of these things are required when your vehicle is pulled over by law enforcement to verify ownership and financial responsibility.
What To Do When Your License Plates Are Stolen
My license plates were stolen. What should I do?
If you should notice that one of your license plates was stolen, immediately contact the local law enforcement agency. You will likely need to visit the police station to file a report.
Take the stolen plate report to the county assessors office where the vehicle was registered. You will need to sign an affidavit that the plate is no longer in your possession and then you will receive new plates, sticker, and registration certificate with new numbers. There will be a fee for the replacement registration.
Replacing Your License Plate Sticker
How do I replace my license plate sticker if it fell off?
Your sticker displays proof that you paid to renew your registration. If it is missing, you can be pulled over by law enforcement and ticketed for improperly displayed plates.
If you need a new one, you need to visit your local county assessors office and pay a small replacement fee. You must show your Idaho identification or driver’s license and provide your license plate number to verify your vehicle registration status.
Replacing Your Vehicle Registration In Person
Where can I go to replace my DMV vehicle registration?
Unlike other states, Idaho does not have a central DMV system. All records for registrations are maintained by the county where the vehicle is titled and registered.
You will be visiting your local county assessors office. Find the office for you on the IDT website by clicking here. Most Idaho DMV offices are open Monday through Friday 8 AM to 5 PM, but always call ahead to make sure.
Registration Replacement Cost: Required Fees
How much will a replacement car registration cost?
The fee structure for an Idaho replacement registration can be difficult to determine. Each county can apply additional fees that vary from place to place.
It also changes whether you have a passenger vehicle, recreational vehicle, or farm vehicle. Call your assessors office to get the right fee for your needs.
Online Registration Replacement
Can I get a replacement vehicle registration online?
You cannot replace your car’s registration over the Internet. If only one plate was stolen, the second plate must be turned in before a new set of plates is issued.
The clerk requires proof of identification and may ask for the title and proof of insurance before a new sticker or certificate is issued. Make sure to arrive with all the needed documentation to save return trips.
What To Do With Old License Plates
My license plates are old and I want new ones. Is this a thing?
If you have had your current plates for ages and they have chipping paint or rust, it is possible to have them replaced. Bring in the damaged plates to the assessors office.
You will be required to pay for a full registration renewal and will have a new expiration date with the new plates.
Replacing Regular Plates with Specialty Plates
If you want to personalize your license plates and replace them with specialty plates, you can fill out a request online. The replacement license plate fee is the same as renewing your Idaho car registration, plus an additional specialty or personalized plate fee that is annually renewed.
Should you have any further questions regarding how to replace your vehicle registration in the state of Idaho, it is recommended to contact the Idaho DMV by calling (208) 334-8000.