If you’ve come to Florida to become a resident, you’ll have 10 days to register your out of state car. A few stipulations can make the process harder, however. To register your out of state car in Florida, you’ll need to satisfy a couple resident requirements. Below, we’re covering the ins and outs of Florida car registration for out-of-towners.
Florida Residency and Car Registration
Before moving, car owners have a common question: “Can I register my car in another state?” As in every state, Florida’s car registration requirements rely on a few residency rules. You can’t register your car in Florida until you’re considered to be a Florida resident. You’re considered to be a Florida resident when you’ve done the following:
- You’ve placed your children in Florida public schools
- You’ve become employed in Florida
- You’ve established a Florida living address
Once you’ve completed the paperwork for any of these things, you can go to the Florida DMV to begin your in-state registration
All About the Documents
To register a car in another state, you’ll need to bring any previous documents. In Florida, you’ll need to finish an application for certificate of title. This form begins the process of transferring your out of state vehicle into Florida. To complete this form, you’ll need to have a couple of resources. Make sure you gather them before heading to the DMV:
Save Money on Your Auto Insurance Bill, Compare Quotes Fast
- Your vehicle’s current license plate number
- Your vehicle’s out of state registration number
- Your vehicle’s identification number
Once you’ve completed these forms, the state of Florida will send you the application for your vehicle’s title certificate. This form will transfer the vehicle from your previous state to Florida. That said, you’ll need to wait for your previous state to send the title to Florida. Florida will then create a Florida Vehicle Title.
A Note On Vehicle Registration Numbers
Your vehicle’s registration number, or VIN, will need to be physically inspected by an authority figure. Normally, this is a law enforcement officer from any state. During a Florida vehicle transfer, however, this can be done by a licensed Florida motor vehicle dealer. If your car’s VIN is verified by an out-of-state motor vehicle dealer, its verification will have to be submitted on the dealer’s letterhead stationary.
This may seem like a specific transfer requirement, but it’s necessary when a vehicle is being transferred into Florida. If a car’s out-of-state title is currently in the possession of another lienholder, your tax collector’s office will need to contact the lienholder. Then, the title is obtained. The process is relatively quick, and your tax collector’s office workers are used to seeing a register car in another state.
How Much Does Registration Cost?
Registration isn’t free. To register your out of state car in Florida, you’ll need to spend $100. This fee covers all paperwork, shipping and processing. Once you’ve paid the $100, you’ll need to pay another standard registration fee. The registration fee is tailored to your vehicle’s weight, and it covers long-term registration—as long as you’re still residing in the state of Florida. Here are the costs:
- $27,60 for any vehicle under 2,500 pounds
- $35.60 for any vehicle between 2,500 and 3,499 pounds
- $45.60 for any vehicle over 3,500 pounds
Fortunately, the one-time registration fee is pretty small. Once you’ve paid the fee—congratulations! You’ve registered your out of state car in Florida.
Can I Register My Car in Another State?
Once you’ve registered your car in Florida, its title will be bound to Florida, legally. You can, however, transfer your car again. To do so, you’ll need to take any current paperwork to your new state’s DMV. This will include your vehicle’s license plate number, registration number and identification number.
You should also bring any previous transfer documents. If your car is being transferred a lot, your new state’s DMV would like to know. Don’t worry about the fine details, however, as a DMV worker can register a car in another state easily.
What About Insurance?
In Florida, a DMV requires proof of Florida auto insurance before any vehicle is transferred. Your vehicle’s Florida auto insurance documents can be given to you by a Florida auto insurance agent. Or, you can contact your auto insurance provider directly. Your provider can send you the documents—or, they can send them directly to the DMV.
In any event, proof of insurance is a stipulation many car owners forget about. Unfortunately, you can’t secure auto insurance after you’ve registered a vehicle in Florida. You’ll need to make sure your policy is fully active.
Once you’ve fully transferred your vehicle to Florida, you won’t need to conduct any additional paperwork. You should, however, keep it on hand. You never know when you’ll need it—and you’ll need it if you move again.