Updated On July 9, 2021
There are a little over 761,000 drivers in Rhode Island, since the population is barely a above a million. But there are beautiful drives along the Ocean State, from rocky shorelines, scenic byways, and countryside views. In RI, all (used) newly registered vehicles (except new ones) must have a valid Rhode Island inspection certificate (sticker) or pass a Safety & Emissions inspection within 5 days of vehicle registration. You can have your tags suspended if you don’t comply.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
New vehicles have to be inspected within two years of purchase or before you rack up 24,000 miles (whichever comes first). But, if you have a registered antique car, there’s no need for inspection. According to iSeeCars, the Ford F-150 pickup truck is the most popular new and used vehicle in the Ocean State. Not surprising as that pickup model is the most popular used vehicle in 39 of the 50 states.
Licensed drivers in RI know how expensive car insurance is in the state— in fact it’s 26% more than the U.S. average. An auto insurance coverage policy is about $1,873 per year. Continue reading for more information about driving in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island Driver’s License Renewal Guide
How do I renew my Rhode Island driver’s license?
Rhode Island driver’s licenses are valid for five years if you are under 75 years old and for two years if you are 75 or older.
Rhode Island will send a renewal form via mail to get the process started. But even if you don’t receive a renewal notice, you are still responsible for making sure your license is valid.
Driving with an expired license in Rhode Island can get you in some big trouble, mostly with fines and fees for reinstatement. Don’t let it get that far though.
Here is a guide on how to renew a driver’s license in Rhode Island.
Renewing a License in Rhode Island
Check Your Contact Information
The first step is to make sure that your contact information is correct, especially if you did not receive a Rhode Island driver’s license renewal notice.
To change your address with the DMV, simply go into the office or go to the DMV website to fill out the Change of Address form. You can mail this form to the Cranston DMV.
Just make sure you do so well before your license expires. You will have to complete this step before renewing your license online also.
Renew Your License in Person
To complete a Rhode Island license renewal in person, you will need:
- Your current driver’s license (if you have lost your license, refer to the application form for a list of substitute documents that are acceptable for identification)
- A completed License/ID/Permit Application
- A method of payment
How to Renew a Rhode Island License Online
There is an online portal for renewing a driver’s license in Rhode Island. To renew your license online you will need:
- Your current driver’s license or your renewal notice.
- A method of payment.
- A method of printing your receipt.
Simply follow the instructions and the DMV will mail your new license using the address on file.
If during the renewal process, you find your address, or any other information is incorrect, you will need to follow the process above for updating your address before you can renew your license online.
Be sure to print your receipt as proof that you have renewed your license until your new license arrives.
Please note, the online portal is not available for renewing a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL), licenses that have been expired longer than 180 days, suspended or revoked licenses. These must be renewed in person.
License Fees and Payment
If you are renewing a driver’s license in Rhode Island using the online portal, you can pay using a debit/credit card. In person, you can use a debit/credit card, check, or money order.
The fee for a standard Rhode Island driver’s license renewal is $61.50 and the license is valid for five years. The rate is prorated for drivers who are over the age of 71.
Receiving Your New Rhode Island License
You will receive your renewed license in person if you have gone to the DMV office.
If you are using the online portal are renewing a driver’s license in Rhode Island by mail, you will receive your license within 60 days using the mailing address on file with the DMV.
Until you receive your new license, you can use your receipt, along with your current license as proof that you are not driving with an expired license.
It is your responsibility to stay on top of renewing a driver’s license in Rhode Island. If you have not received a renewal notice, be sure to check your license and allow plenty of time for renewal so you are not breaking the law.