Minnesota Driver’s License Renewal Guide
How to Renew a Minnesota Driver’s License
What do I need and how do I renew my Minnesota driver’s license? Good questions.
Renewing your driver’s license in Minnesota is a relatively easy process, but there are some things you should know first.
Minnesota license renewal requires certain fees, documentation and forms, and you won’t be able to renew your license without them.
Keep in mind that the requirements are different for each type of license, so the process for getting a commercial driver’s license is far different than obtaining a Class D Minnesota driver’s license.
What Do I Need to Renew My Driver’s License?
In Minnesota, you can only renew your driver’s license in person at the Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) department.
This is different from some other states where you can renew online or by mail. To check the status of your license, use the MN DVS Driver License Status Check tool.
You can also print forms and read about documentation requirements on the Minnesota DVS website.
Renewing an Expired Driver’s License
Your driver’s license will expire every 4 years in Minnesota. Unlike some other states, your license will expire on your birthday rather than the date of your application.
If you have a provisional license, it will only last for 2 years and will expire on the date of your application instead of your birthday. The Minnesota DVS will notify you by mail when the expiration date for your license is drawing near.
Taking care of your Minnesota driver’s license renewal before your license expires is vital.
If you wait for your license to expire before making a visit to the DVS, you’ll have to fulfill additional requirements to renew your license.
Required License Renewal Forms and Documents
You can’t actually print the Minnesota Class D license application from the DVS website, so you’ll have to grab an application and fill it out while you’re at the DVS office.
The application is a single page that asks for basic information required for your driver’s license.
Along with this application, you may be required to bring certain documentation. At the very least, you’ll have to bring a Minnesota driver’s license that’s been expired for less than 5 years.
If you’re changing the name on your license, you’ll have to bring a certified marriage certificate, a certified divorce decree, or another certified court document which confirms the name change.
Required Driver’s License Renewal Fees
To obtain or renew a Class D Minnesota driver’s license, you’ll have to pay a fee of $25.25. This fee is the same whether you’re over or under 21.
If you want to get a duplicate driver’s license in case you lose yours, it will cost you $14.75. These fees may only be paid via cash or check.
License Renewal with Special Conditions
The process of how to renew a Minnesota driver’s license is simple if you’re just looking to renew your license, but the process changes a bit if your license is expired, suspended or revoked, or lost or stolen.
If this is the case for you, keep reading to learn how to renew your license in your situation.
Renewing an Expired Driver’s License
An expired driver’s license may require extra fees and/or an additional written or driving test.
You may want to bring some extra cash if your license is expired.
Replacing a Lost Driver’s License
If your license has been suspended, you’ll have to pay all fines and a reinstatement fee. This fee will be $20 or $30 for most suspensions, or $680 for alcohol, drug, or other crime-related suspensions.
When your license is lost or stolen, you must bring two proof of identification documents with you.
These include a birth certificate, U.S. passport, tribal identification card, or adoption certificate.
Secondary documents like social security cards must be presented in addition to the previously listed documents.