Oklahoma DMV Title Transfer Guide
How To Transfer A Vehicle Title In Oklahoma
Whenever you buy, sell or gift a vehicle in the state of Oklahoma, you’ll need to have the title transferred to the new owner.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
The Oklahoma Tax Commission’s Motor Vehicle Division handles the issuance and transfers of motor vehicle titles for a broad range of vehicles, including off-road motorcycles, ATVs and utility vehicles.
The following offers a wealth of information on how to transfer a car title in Oklahoma. If you need to know how much is a title transfer, how to fill out transfer of title form or anything else title-related, simply read on to find out.
What Do You Need To Transfer A Car Title In Oklahoma?
The title transfer requirements in Oklahoma can vary depending on whether you’re buying, selling or gifting your vehicle.
In general, you’ll need to present the following documents to the MVD:
- The Oklahoma Certificate of Title, properly assigned and notarized.
- Current registration information (unless you’re transferring a junk title).
- Proof of liability insurance.
- A completed odometer disclosure statement for vehicles 9 years old or newer.
- A bill of sale, purchase contract or Declaration of Vehicle Purchase Price (Form 722-1).
You’ll also need the appropriate dmv title transfer form if you’re purchasing a used vehicle from a private seller.
In this case, you’ll need to complete and submit an Application for Oklahoma Certificate of Title for a Vehicle (Form 701-6).
How Much Does It Cost To Transfer A Car Title In Oklahoma?
Title transfer fees in Oklahoma are relatively affordable compared to other states. You’ll need to pay a $17.00 ownership transfer fee to successfully have your title transferred. If there’s a lien on your title, you’ll also need to pay a $10.00 lien processing fee for in-state lien holders and $13.00 for out-of-state lien holders.
If you plan on submitting the optional Notice of Transfer of Ownership of a Vehicle (Form 773), you’ll need to set aside $10.00 for the filing fee.
My Car Title Was Signed But Never Transferred. What Do I Do?
So you and the new owner signed the car title, but the new owner failed to complete the final steps for a title transfer. It’s a situation that doesn’t happen often, but it can be frustrating when it happens.
Fortunately, you can use Form 773 to report the assignment of ownership to the Oklahoma Tax Commission. This will prevent you from incurring any fines or fees caused by the new owner.
How Can I Request A Duplicate Title?
Requesting a duplicate title is as simple as filling out and submitting an Application for Replacement Certificate of Title (Form 701-7) to the MVD. Applications for a duplicate title cost $11.00.
If you plan to mail in your application, you’ll need to add a mail fee of $1.50 in addition to the title fee.
Transferring A Car Title To A Family Member
If you want to know how to transfer a car title to a family member, keep in mind that the title transfer process is the same as purchasing a used vehicle from a private seller.
If you plan on gifting a vehicle to a family member, you’ll also need to complete and submit a Family Affidavit (Form 794) to your local MVD office.
Transferring An OK Car Title From A Deceased Owner
If you’re wondering how to transfer a car title when owner is deceased, don’t panic.
If the vehicle was left to you in the owner’s will, you’ll need to provide the following documentation to the MVD:
- Letters testamentary authorizing you to act on the estate’s behalf.
- A death certificate verifying the deceased’s passing.
- Payment for all applicable transfer fees.
In addition, the will also needs to go through probate prior to any transfer of vehicle ownership.
If there’s no will available and no one else has claims to the vehicle, you can present the deceased’s death certificate to your local MVD office and undergo the same process as buying a used vehicle from a private party.
You may need to fill out a Small Estate Affidavit (Form 405) if the estate is valued at less than $50,000.
Transferring A Car Without A Title
Need to know how to transfer ownership of a car without a title? You’ll need to fill out and submit an Affidavit for Transfer of Ownership Following Loss of Assigned Oklahoma Title (Form 777).
You’ll also need to submit proof of vehicle purchase or ownership, such as a notarized bill of sale or canceled check. If the vehicle is 9 years old or newer, you’ll also need a completed odometer disclosure statement for each ownership assignment.
Oklahoma DMV Hours And Contact Information
For more information regarding questions specific to how to transfer your vehicle’s title in the state of Oklahoma, to contact the OK DMV or for other general questions, visit the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety website here.
Common Questions About Oklahoma Title Transfer
Are there any questions about transferring a car title that we didn’t cover?
We are constantly updating our content and welcome your feedback. Leave us a comment and let us know any other questions you might have regarding how to transfer a car title in the state of Oklahoma.