New Jersey DMV Title Transfer Guide
How To Transfer A Vehicle Title In New Jersey
Title transfers in New Jersey follow a basic process with some exceptions for special circumstances, such adding security interests to a title, deceased title holders or a lost title. All of these transfers can be processed by working with the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.
The following questions often arise during the transfer process.
In New Jersey, title transfers must be handled at a motor vehicle agency and not through the mail. All documents and forms must be supplied to the agency in a timely manner, to avoid delays and penalties. Vehicle sellers must surrender license plates unless they’re being transferred to another vehicle.
It’s important to note that the existing plates cannot be transferred to the buyer. The seller’s signature is also required in the appropriate section on the title.
The buyer must provide a sales price, addresses and other pertinent information associated with the sale, along with the Vehicle Registration application.
License plates are transferred to the buyer at the time the application is submitted and approved. Title transfer and filling of forms must be completed within ten days of the sale of a vehicle, to avoid a $25 penalty.
Requesting a duplicate title must also be done at a designated motor vehicle agency, using an application for a duplicate certificate of ownership.
New Jersey Title Transfer Requirements
What do I need to transfer the title after buying, selling or gifting a vehicle in the state of New Jersey?
The process for completing title transfers is relatively straightforward assuming all required information is readily available.
When visiting the NJ DMV office nearest to you to facilitate the title transfer process, be sure to bring the following required documents and information with you:
- Buyer and seller signatures.
- Sale date.
- Buyers information.
- Odometer reading.
- Purchase price.
- Surrender of license plates.
NJ Title Transfer Fees
How much does it cost to transfer a car title in the state of New Jersey?
The DMV title transfer form you use will indicate the title transfer fees due, along with instructions on how to fill out transfer of title form. With most applications there is a $60 title fee.
Additional penalties and fees may apply, depending on your situation. Existing registrations can be transferred for an additional $4.50. Also impacting the cost of title transfer are factors such as vehicles purchased in other states or at auctions.
Out Of State Title Transfer
I’m buying or selling my car from out of state and want to transfer the title into New Jersey. What do I need to do?
The out of state title transfer process differs depending on which state and whether or not the vehicle has it’s title.
The New Jersey DMV website provides helpful resources to help you navigate the title transfer process which can be found below:
Salvage Titles And Buying A Car From An Auction
How do I transfer ownership of a car without a title?
The New Jersey DMV website provides information regarding what to do if the vehicle you are buying or selling does not have the original title.
These scenarios usually involve salvage titles and occur when buying or selling a car through an auto auction or estate sale. Check out their resource on the NJ DMV website here.
How To Transfer A Car Title When The Original Owner Is Deceased
A motor vehicle titled to a decedent can be driven for up to 30 days after the date of passing. To transfer title, a copy of the death certificate, a notarized affidavit and the old title need to be submitted, along with the appropriate application.
Additional paperwork, such as a Surrogate’s Short Certificate, is contingent upon whether the vehicle was part of an estate, and there is an executor processing the transfer.
If the title is transferred to an estate, then a new registration and proof of insurance in the estate’s name is required.
Title fees in these instances run $60, or $85 for a financed vehicle title fee. If the titled property was not left in a will, then there are specific guidelines for transferring title, depending on the parties entitled to the property.
How To Transfer A Car Title To A Family Member In New Jersey
Gifting a vehicle to a family member follows the same process that is required for a normal transfer of title. However, the state of New Jersey requires that instead of listing a sales price in the supporting documentation, you simply write the word gift instead.
If you sell a vehicle to a family member and transfer the title, you follow the standard process for transfers. In the case of a gift, it is prudent to investigate applicable federal and state regulations associated with the gifting of assets to related parties, to avoid unexpected taxes.
My Car Title Was Signed But Never Transferred. What Do I Do?
It’s important to make sure that all lien holders and security interests have been properly addressed, in order complete your title transfer. Working closely with a designated motor vehicle agency in New Jersey is the quickest and most effective method to expedite the transfer of title.
The exact process for transferring a title in New Jersey is contingent on a number of factors, including whether you’re purchasing from an auto dealer, or if there are lien holders associated with the title. Answers to questions such as, “How much does it cost to transfer a car title?”, along with other important details, can be found via the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.
New Jersey DMV Hours And Contact Information
For more information on questions specific to your title transfer scenario, clarification on the title transfer process in the state of New Jersey, or for NJ DMV hours and to find the DMV location nearest to you, visit the official New Jersey Department of Motor Vehicle/Motor Vehicle Commission website by clicking here.
Common Questions About New Jersey Title Transfer
Are there any questions about transferring a car title that we didn’t cover?
We are constantly updating our content and welcome your feedback. Leave us a comment and let us know any other questions you might have regarding how to transfer a car title in the state of New Jersey.