Updated on Jul 20, 2021
Planning a move to Wyoming? Wyoming requires residents to register their vehicles when they own or rent a property, work in the state, and reside in the state for 120 days. If this applies to you, head to your local treasurer’s office to register your vehicle.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
Except for motorcycles and trailers, the Equality State requires two license plates for all vehicles. It’s one of the 31 states to require both front and rear license plates for its 196,219 registered vehicles. If you drive in Wyoming without a front license plate, you’ll risk getting a citation or face fines up to $200!
Wyoming Vehicle Registration Renewal Guide
How to Renew Your Car Registration in Wyoming
The state of Wyoming requires all vehicles in the state to have a current registration on file. Before your current registration is set to expire, the county treasurer’s office will mail out a registration renewal notice.
You will not need to have this notice in order to renew your registration, but there are some counties that will require the PIN from the notice if you are planning to renew your registration online.
Wyoming Online Vehicle Registration Renewal
In certain counties you will be able to renew your registration online.
To renew online you will need to have the following information:
- Billing information for your credit card or debit card
- Vehicle information
- Address where you want the new registration sent
- PIN found on your renewal notice
Renewing Your Wyoming Vehicle Registration In Person
To renew your registration in person you will need to visit your local county clerk’s office and bring with you the following:
- Registration renewal notice or your current registration or your license plate number.
- Proof of current auto insurance policy.
- IRS form 2290, a copy is fine, this is for vehicles that weigh more than 55,000 pounds.
- The required payment amount.
Residents will be asked to pay both a state fee and a county fee. The county fee will vary based on location.
You may have lost your Wyoming license plates or your vehicle registration documentation. If so, the Wyoming DMV can help you get new plates, plate stickers and a registration certificate for your vehicle. Please read the information below to find out how to replace your vehicle registration.
If you have any further questions, please contact your nearest DMV office in Wyoming at 307-777-4800.
Registration Renewal vs. Replacement or Duplicate Registration
How does replacement registration differ from registration renewal in Wyoming?
If you lose your registration, you do not want to wait until it expires before you get new plates or documentation. You need to visit a DMV office to get new registration or replacement car tag as soon as possible to avoid being pulled over by a highway patrol officer.
Renewing your registration only occurs when it is getting ready to expire. You should replace your plate and sticker only if either has been stolen or if they are lost. Wyoming law requires that you have updated your vehicle’s plate, sticker, and documentation to drive legally.
What To Do If Someone Has Stolen Your License Plate
If someone has stolen the license plate from your vehicle, you should report the incident to a local law enforcement agency in Wyoming. You may have to fill out an official crime report and give a testimony at the police station.
The local authorities will instruct you to take the official report to your nearest DMV where you can receive new plates. Once you arrive at the DMV, you will complete a report that your plates and sticker were stolen or vandalized.
Replacing Your Vehicle Registration In Person At The Wyoming DMV
What do I need to take with me to the DMV to replace my car registration?
The following documentation will be required in order to replace your vehicle registration in person:
- Your current drivers license.
- The number on the license plate.
- The VIN (vehicle identification number).
Duplicate and Replacement Wyoming License Plate Fees
You can request a replacement license plate or a duplicate license plate. The fees for each are:
- Replacement plate is $8.
- Each additional plate is $30.
Wyoming Online Vehicle Registration Replacement Options
Although most DMV locations in Wyoming do not allow you to replace a lost or stolen plate or sticker online, your location may offer this options. Please contact your local DMV to find out their replacement policies. If the DMV nearest to you offers online replacement options, you’ll need to contact the local treasury’s office to find more about their particular process.
Each DMV and treasury’s office differs in how it handles online plate, sticker, or documentation registration.
How to Replace a Lost or Missing License Plate Sticker in Wyoming
The sticker on your license plate is what patrol officers look for to verify that you have renewed your license plate registration. If the sticker is missing, you could be pulled over for violating the law. You may have recently noticed that the sticker on your plate is no longer there.
In most cases, the sticker either fell off the plate, or someone has stolen it. If you feel that the sticker has been stolen, you need to follow the same instructions as pointed out above for reporting a stolen plate.
If you need a new sticker, then visit your nearest DMV office. The process of getting a new license plate sticker includes the following:
- Visit the county treasurer’s office in your area.
- Bring documentation that verifies you own your vehicle. The auto registration document is your best option.
Replacement License Plate Decal Fee In Wyoming
The cost of replacing your sticker is $6
Wyoming DMV Contact Information
If you have any further questions about what you need to do to replace the license plate sticker in Wyoming, you can call (307) 777-4825 or (307) 777-4851.
How to Discard Your Damaged License Plates In Wyoming
Accidents occasionally happen that damage your license plate. If your license plate is damaged beyond use, then bring it to your local DMV office and follow the instructions above for replacement vehicle registration. You’ll receive a new license plate, once your surrender the damaged license plate.
Your local DMV can help you with all your license plate, sticker, and registration documentation needs. Remember: if your license plate is stolen, lost, or damaged, do not delay in getting any of these items replaced. It’s the law.