Updated on July 25, 2021
If you’re planning a move to South Dakota, you’re in luck. The Mount Rushmore state doesn’t require emissions testing to register your vehicle with the state, so registering your vehicle or renewing your tags is quicker and easier. License plates in South Dakota are issued based on the first letter of your last name, correlating with a specific month of the year. For example, those with last names starting with K and L have to renew in June. From T to Z, all tag renewals have to be done in November. Keep in mind, South Dakota doesn’t have the luxury of a grace period after your registration expires.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
After the expiration date on your registration, you can face traffic citations and potentially the charges of a misdemeanor crime. Don’t risk it, renew your registration early. Keep reading for more details about South Dakota registration.
South Dakota Vehicle Registration Renewal Guide
How to Renew a Car Registration in South Dakota
If you have lost or damaged your vehicle’s license plates, stickers, or registration card, you will need to request replacements. While it can be frustrating, the process to replace these items is quite simple.
You will need to contact your local county treasurer’s office to request the appropriate forms and to provide any required documentation. It is important that you do so as quickly as possible to avoid costly fines in the event of a traffic stop. As you may know, it is against South Dakota state law to operate a vehicle without valid registration, plates or stickers, so taking care of the issue promptly is in your best interest.
If you have any questions regarding replacement items, you can call the South Dakota DMV at (605) 773-3541.
Before your vehicle registration is set to expire in the state of South Dakota, you will need to renew the registration with the Motor Vehicles Division. The Department of Motor Vehicles of the state will send out a renewal notice before the expiration date.
If you would prefer to receive a reminder through email, you may sign up to receive an email notification on the state DMV website. You will need to provide your date of birth as well as your driver’s license number.
South Dakota allows residents to renew their registrations online 90 days before the registration is set to expire and up to 30 days after it has expired.
South Dakota Online Registration Renewal Options
To renew your registration online you will use the online registration system and provide the following:
- Date of birth.
- Driver’s license number.
Renewing Your Registration In Person In South Dakota
In order to renew your registration in person you will need to visit a local branch of the DMV and have the following:
- Driver’s license.
- Renewal notice.
- Payment for required registration renewal fee.
There are several self-service terminals available throughout the state as well.
You may visit one of these terminals 90 days before your registration expires and up to a month after your registration has expired. You can use one of these terminals no matter what county you live in.
Replacement Registration vs. Registration Renewal
Is vehicle registration renewal the same as getting a replacement registration?
To put it simply, no. Registration renewal is required when you are approaching the expiration date on your vehicle’s registration card. The process to renew your registration is not the same as replacing it, and you must know the difference to supply the proper forms and documentation.
Please note, even if you replace your registration, you will still have to renew it when it approaches its expiration date.
Replacing Stolen Plates or License Plate Stickers
If you’ve been the victim of theft, you should contact your local law enforcement agency immediately. In the state of South Dakota, you are required to report stolen plates or license plate stickers.
To do so, have your license plate number ready, along with any information about the theft. When you apply for replacement plates or stickers, you will need to furnish the name of the law enforcement agency to which you reported the theft. You will also have to sign to verify that you reported the stolen items.
How to Replace Your Vehicle Registration in South Dakota
To obtain a replacement vehicle registration in South Dakota, you must appear at your local county treasurer’s office. You may not request a replacement registration online or by mail.
When you arrive, make sure you have the following items ready in order to complete the in-person replacement registration process:
- Valid driver’s license.
- Your vehicle identification number (VIN).
- Your license plate number.
- The make and model of your vehicle.
- Payment to cover any applicable fees.
For more information on the fee structure for replacement registration, you can contact your local county treasurer’s office.
How to Request a Replacement Car Tag or License Plate
If your license plates or stickers have been lost, stolen, or damaged, you may request replacements either in-person or by mail. If you choose to request these items by mail, you will need to fill out any required forms, as well as supply payment for any applicable fees.
South Dakota Replacement Plate Sticker Fee
How much does it cost to replace my license plate sticker in South Dakota?
For a new plate or sticker, the cost is $10.00. Alternatively, you can visit your county treasurer’s office and provide any required paperwork, along with the fee for replacement.
Was Your Replacement Registration Lost in the Mail?
If you have requested replacement license plates or a license plate sticker and they do not arrive, you may request new items, free of charge. To do so, you will need to fill out an application and return it in-person to your county treasurer’s office or mail it to the address listed on the forms. To be eligible for free replacements, you must complete and return the application within 90 days of your original application date.
It is important that you replace any lost, stolen, or damaged registration materials as soon as you are aware there is a problem. This will save you both the expense and frustration of fines associated with illegal vehicle operation. If you have any further questions about replacement car registration, stickers, or plates, feel free to contact your local DMV at (605) 773-3541.