North Carolina Vehicle Registration Renewal
How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in North Carolina
Before your vehicle registration expires in the state of North Carolina, residents are expected to renew it through the Department of Motor Vehicles. Along with renewing the registration, you may also need to have your vehicle inspected for safety standards and pay any associated taxes for your vehicle.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
The DMV will send out a notification 60 days before your registration expires. The state of North Carolina process registrations either in person or online.
The state of North Carolina requires that vehicles undergo a safety inspection and in some counties an emissions test. Every vehicle must pass a safety inspection unless it is over 35 years old. Emissions tests are required in the 48 counties seen below:
- New Hanover
These inspections have to be passed at least 90 days before your vehicle registration expires.
To renew your registration online you will need to visit the DMV website and provide the following:
- License plate number
- Last 5 numbers of the vehicle title number
- Registration renewal fee
In order to renew your registration in person you will need to bring the following with you:
- License plate number or renewal notice
- Proof of car insurance, which may be your insurance card, policy, or DL-123 form
Have you lost your North Carolina car registration? Don’t drive without it! You can obtain a replacement vehicle registration, replacement car tag, or a new license plate sticker at any North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office.
If it’s easier, you may also be eligible to replace these important items online or by mail.
This guide will tell you all you need to know about how to replace your vehicle registration, car tags or license plate stickers if your car is currently registered in North Carolina.
Replacing Your North Carolina Registration In Person
To get a North Carolina replacement vehicle registration, simply head to any DMV office to complete the paperwork and pay the fee.
First, complete the Application for Duplicate and/or Additional Registration Certificates form (Form MVR-10). You will need to provide your personal information and the vehicle information, such as year, make, and model, as well as the license plate number.
You will also need to show proof of your identity using your current driver’s license or other form of identification, as well as proof that you have car insurance.
Once you pay the fee, you will receive your replacement vehicle registration.
North Carolina Online Replacement Registration Options
If your car is currently registered in North Carolina, you can complete the replacement car registration process online. To do so, you must have the following:
- A valid email address to print the receipt.
- The last five letters or numbers of your vehicle title number.
- The license plate number that you are replacing.
- A valid debit or credit card for payment of the fee.
Once you fill out the required information and pay the fee, make sure you print your receipt as this will be proof that you have applied for a replacement registration.
Keep this receipt with you, as you would your car registration, in case you are pulled over by law enforcement. It will help you avoid a fine for driving without a registration.
Also, if you need to change your address to ensure the DMV has the most current address, you may do so online.
Replacing Your North Carolina Registration by Mail
If your address is current with the DMV, you can apply for a replacement registration by mail. Simply fill out the Application for Duplicate and/or Additional Registration Certificates form (Form MVR-10), include a check or money order for the fee and mail it to:
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27697
Be sure to have the form notarized before submitting.
Replacing Your Tags or License Plate Sticker in Person
If your car tags or license plate stickers have been lost, stolen, or damaged, you can obtain a replacement car tag or license plate sticker from the DMV.
First, complete the Application for Replacement of Plate and/or Sticker form (MVR-18).
Present the form and the following to your local DMV office:
- Proof of insurance.
You can pay the fee using cash, check, money order, debit, or credit card. Once you pay the fee, you will receive your new license plates or sticker.
Replacing Your Tags and Stickers by Mail
You can also apply for replacement tags or a new license plate sticker by mail. Just fill out the Application for Replacement of Plate and/or Sticker form (MVR-18).
Be sure to have the form notarized and mail the completed form, as well as check or money order for the fee to:
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27697
Make sure the address on file with the DMV is correct, and you will receive replacement tags or your new sticker in the mail.
Fees For Replacing a Lost, Stolen or Damaged License Plate In North Carolina
In North Carolina, the fee for a replacement registration vehicle registration is $20. The fee for a replacement car tag or license plate sticker is also $20.
It is not uncommon for registration cards, plates, or stickers to become lost, damaged or even stolen. But, North Carolina makes it easy to replace these important items to help you avoid trouble with the law.