New Jersey Vehicle Registration Renewal Guide
How to Renew a Car Registration in NJ
Before renewing a vehicle’s registration, The Motor Vehicle Commission requires drivers in the state of New Jersey to have their vehicles undergo an emissions testing. This is required every 2 years, however newer cars do not need to be tested until they are 4 years old or older.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
During this inspection the safety features of the vehicle will also be tested. This includes the head and taillights, turn signals, windshield wipers, horn, as well as tires, suspension, alignment, brakes, and steering. Electric vehicles are exempt from these inspections.
The MVC of New Jersey will send out a renewal notice before your registration expires. This notice will include the fee, the date to renew by, a PIN number that can be used to register online if you are eligible, as well as an envelope that can be used to renew your registration through the mail.
To renew your registration in person you will need the following:
- Appropriate identification.
- Registration renewal notice or current registration or license plate number.
- Proof of auto insurance.
- Payment for your registration, which can be money order, cash, or a credit card. Only Visa, MasterCard, and American Express are accepted.
To renew online you will need your PIN number and your social security number. There will be a $1.50 fee to process your registration online.
How to Replace Car Registration Paperwork in New Jersey
Whether your car registration or license plates have been lost, stolen, or damaged, it’s important to get them replaced right away. Fortunately, New Jersey makes it easy to apply for and replace these items so that you don’t find yourself paying extra fines and fees for driving without them.
You can request replacements through the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). This guide has all you need to know about how to replace your vehicle registration, tags, and a license plate sticker in New Jersey.
How to Obtain a Replacement Vehicle Registration
To replace a lost or damaged vehicle registration you must appear in person at an MVC branch. You must be the owner or co-owner of the vehicle and have acceptable identification, such as your current valid driver’s license.
Please note, if you are not the owner and are obtaining a replacement vehicle registration for someone else, you will need to provide a notarized statement of consent from the vehicle owner.
You must also have a New Jersey insurance id card. You can substitute a receipt from any previous title or registration transaction.
You can obtain the Vehicle Application Registration form (BA-49) from the MVC. This must also be filled out and presented to obtain a replacement registration. And, if there is more than one owner of the vehicle, both owners must sign this form.
There is a fee for obtaining a replacement registration. For most vehicles, the fee is $5. However, if you have an accelerated registration and you are requesting a replacement within the first three years of the four-year registration, you will have to pay $11.
Special Considerations for Leased Vehicle Replacement Registration
If your vehicle is leased and you lose or damage the registration, you will have to contact your leasing company to obtain the legal authority to apply for a replacement registration.
You will need a Power of Attorney from the leasing company that states:
- The name of the person leasing the vehicle (the lessee).
- An authorization statement.
- Vehicle identifying information, including VIN, year, make and model of the vehicle.
With the original copy of the Power of Attorney, you can then go to the MVC office. Make sure you have:
- Identification, such as your driver’s license.
- New Jersey insurance id card or receipt from a previous title or registration transaction.
- Your completed Vehicle Application Registration form (BA-49).
You will then pay the standard fee as mentioned above. Generally, this is $5.
How to Obtain a Replacement Car Tag in New Jersey
You can obtain Replacement license plates in person or through the mail if yours are damaged. However, if your plates are lost or stolen, you will need to go to the MVC in person to obtain new plates.
Replacing a Lost or Stolen NJ License Plate
You must report all lost or stolen motor vehicle plates to the police. Be sure to obtain a copy of the police report.
At the MVC you will complete a Vehicle Registration/Plate Status form (BA-1). You can then present your current registration, along with your identification, and obtain replacement plates with the next available number.
There is a $6 fee for standard new plates and $11 for special interest or dedicated replacement plates.
Replacing a Damaged NJ License Plate
You do not have to report damaged plates to the police or fill out the Vehicle Registration/Plate Status form. However, you will have to present your current registration and identification, pay the fee, and surrender your old plates to the MVC.
If you want to keep the same plate number as your damaged plates, you can fill out the Application for Remaking an Existing Plate (SPU-89). This form can be picked up at an MVC office, downloaded online, or you can request a copy by phone. You will need a copy of your registration and payment of the $11 fee. Your plates will be sent to you in the mail in ten to 12 weeks. You must still surrender your damaged plates to the MVC.
Remember, you must have a valid and legible registration and plates if you are stopped by law enforcement. If not, you may be facing a traffic ticket and a fine. So, take the time to make sure you stay legal.