Nevada Vehicle Registration Renewal Guide
How to Renew a Car Registration in Nevada
The Department of Motor Vehicles in the state of Nevada will send you a registration renewal notice before your registration is set to expire. You must renew your registration by the exact date that is listed on this notice—there is no grace period in Nevada.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
There are several options to renew your registration. You can renew either in person, by mail, or online.
There are also self-service kiosks, emissions stations, and local DMV offices where you can renew your registration in person.
Residents can renew online by visiting the renewal page at the Nevada DMV website. You will need the access code provided on your renewal notice.
If you do not have this code you will need the last 4 numbers of your VIN as well as your license plate number. You will need to verify the records of your vehicle and pay the appropriate fees.
If renewing your registration in person you will need to have the following:
- Insurance card.
- Driver’s license.
- Payment for required registration renewal fees.
You may also visit one of the self-serving kiosks that are available throughout the state. You can use these kiosks if you do not have to update any information (such as name or address) or process any registration issues and you are renewing your registration either on time or 18 months before it expires.
If your car registration, license plates, or decal have been lost, stolen, or damaged, be sure to order your replacement documents right away to avoid any problems with the law.
It is illegal to drive without these registration items and getting caught doing so will mean paying fines.
It’s much cheaper to get replacements right away, and this guide tells you how to replace your vehicle registration and how to apply for a replacement car tag or license plate sticker.
How to Get a Replacement Vehicle Registration In Nevada
If you need to replace your vehicle registration or request a duplicate registration in Nevada, you can choose to do so either by mail, in person or online.
Replacing a Car Registration In Person At The Nevada DMV
You can go to any Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office to apply for a duplicate Certificate of Registration. First fill out the Application for Duplicate Registration Certificate form (VP-013).
You will need to show proof of insurance and pay the $6 fee before you will be issued a replacement vehicle registration.
Replacing a Car Registration By Mail In Nevada
You can also fill out the form, make a copy or your insurance card and mail it, along with a check or money order for the fee, to the DMV.
Lastly, you can also fax these same documents to the Nevada DMV.
Using A DMV Kiosk For Duplicate Nevada Registration
You can also order a replacement car registration using a Nevada DMV kiosk as long as your registration is tied to your Nevada driver’s license.
The kiosk will ask for the following information:
- Your name.
- The address on record.
- Your driver’s license number.
- Your date of birth.
- The license plate number.
- The VIN of the vehicle.
You will also be required to pay the $6 duplicate/replacement registration fee plus a $3 kiosk processing fee.
If you request a certificate without decal, your replacement vehicle registration certificate will be printed by the kiosk. Otherwise, the duplicate registration will be mailed to you.
Nevada Online Replacement Registration Options
Can I request a duplicate vehicle registration online in Nevada?
Yes. You can also use the MyDMV online portal to print a replacement car registration certificate.
Simply visit MyDMV, follow the prompts to enter your VIN, driver’s license number and other information. You can pay the $6 fee with a debit or credit card and print the duplicate certificate.
How to Replace Your Car Tag In Nevada
If your license plates have been lost, damaged, or stolen you may be able to order a duplicate set with the same number or receive a replacement set of new plates.
Replacing Your Nevada Car Tag In Person
Do I need to surrender my old NV license plates?
If possible, surrender your old plates. If they have been stolen, make sure to report the theft to the police to protect yourself from further identity theft. You will need to fill out a Lost, Stolen or Mutilated License Plate Affidavit, declaring what happened to your old plates also.
Fill out the Duplicate License Plate Application form (SP-14) for new plates and pay the fees, including $14 for a set of standard license plates, $5 for a substitute plate fee, and the $1 technology fee.
If you are requesting a new number, you will receive your replacement car tags, but if you are requesting the same number, your plates will be shipped to the DMV or Assessor’s office that you chose on the application.
The DMV will notify you by mail when your replacement license plates are ready to be picked up.
Replacing Your Car Tags By Mail In Nevada
Fill out the Duplicate License Plate Application form (SP-14) and mail it, along with your payment and fees to the address on the application. You can pay the fee with a check or a money order.
You will be notified by mail when your new plates are ready to be picked up at the DMV or Assessor’s office chosen on your application form.
Getting a Replacement Decal For Your Nevada License Plate
You can request a new decal if yours has been lost or stolen. Nevada does not use license plate stickers. They use decals attached to your registration.
When you request a replacement decal, you will receive a new registration certificate. To request a new decal, fill out the Application for Duplicate Registration Certificate form (VP-013), checking the “Substitute Decal” box.
In person, you must show your proof of insurance and by mail, you must submit a photo copy of your insurance card.
Pay the standard fee of $6 and you will receive your new decal in person or by mail.
There are many options for getting a replacement vehicle registration, license plates or decals in Nevada. If yours have been lost, damaged, or stolen, don’t wait until you get pulled over.
Replacing them right away is much cheaper than paying the fine for driving without them.