Updated on July 18, 2021
To register a vehicle in Louisiana, you need to have Louisiana auto insurance and pass a safety inspection at least every other year. Some parishes such as East/West Baton Rouge, Iberville and Livingston require a smog check as part of that inspection. If your vehicle failed the inspection, you have 30 days to make the necessary repairs and receive a clean safety inspection.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
If your vehicle is an older model, 25 years old, and is primary used for exhibitions like car show and parades, you don’t’ have to get a safety inspection. The vehicle is also exempt if registered and an antique. Continue reading for more on Louisiana registration and LA tags renewal.
Louisiana Vehicle Registration Renewal Guide
How To Renew A Vehicle Registration In Louisiana
In the state of Louisiana, renewing your registration and your license plates are one and the same. The state of Louisiana requires plates and registrations to be renewed every 2 years.
Several weeks before your expiration date you should receive a registration notice from the Office of Motor Vehicles. This notice will contain the following information:
- License plate number.
- Renewal fee.
- Expiration date.
- Renewal ID number.
In Louisiana you can renew your registration online, by mail, or in person. When first registering a vehicle in the state, you will need to present a photo ID or your license. This is not required for subsequent registration renewals, but you should still bring your ID with you for any type of OMV transaction.
The state of Louisiana requires vehicles undergo a regular emissions and safety test. An inspection center sticker has to be displayed on your vehicle to show that you have complied with this requirement. You are not allowed to renew your registration if your inspection sticker has expired.
To renew your registration in person you will need the following:
- Renewal notice.
- Proof of car insurance.
- Driver’s license.
- Valid inspection sticker.
- Renewal fee.
Replacement And Duplicate Vehicle Registration In Louisiana
In the state of Louisiana, drivers need to register their vehicles before hitting the roads. Licenses plates, registration cards, and registration stickers serve as proof that a vehicle can be legally driven in Louisiana.
Unsurprisingly, many drivers end up having their license plates and registration documents lost, damaged, or stolen at some point. Fortunately, drivers can go through the process of replacing license plates and vehicle registrations in Louisiana.
Louisiana Replacement Registration
If you need to replace your license plate, registration card, or registration stickers, you can go through the process of requesting replacements from the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) of Louisiana. You are at risk of vehicle impoundment, tickets, and fines if you don’t have these components replaced as soon as possible.
Fortunately, the replacement registration process is fairly simple.
How To Replace A Lost Or Stolen Louisiana License Plate
Drivers can contact the OMV of Louisiana for specific information about the license plates and registration they’ve lost. If a driver believes that their license plate, vehicle registration, or registration stickers have been stolen, they should contact a law enforcement agency in order to file a report with the police.
Afterwards, the driver can request replacements from the OMV.
Replacing A Vehicle Registration Card In Louisiana
At the OMV, there are three different ways that drivers can obtain a replacement registration card. There are three different methods for the convenience of drivers in Louisiana. In general, you will need to provide some information to the Louisiana OMV to get a duplicate registration card.
Required Documents For Replacement and Duplicate Vehicle Registration
Documents necessary to replace or request a duplicate vehicle registration in the state of Louisiana may include:
- Your name as printed on the registration card.
- Your address as printed on the registration card.
- The vehicle identification number (VIN) and the description of the vehicle.
- The license plate number.
In order to replace your registration card, you can do any of the following:
- Complete the duplicate registration request form online on the Louisiana OMV website.
- Go to a LA OMV office in your local area.
- Mail a written request for a replace registration card with your address, name, VIN, license plate number, vehicle make, vehicle model, and proof of insurance.
If you decide to mail a written request, the address you should mail it to is as follows:
P.O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
Fees For Replacement Louisiana Registration Card
$12 is the standard fee for requesting a replacement registration card. However, at certain location, you may need to pay an additional service charge. Some common payment methods include check, cash, money order, or cashier’s check.
You can use cash if you’re at the Louisiana OMV office and you can pay with a check if it includes your driver’s license number.
Replacing LA License Plates & Registration Stickers
If you need to get replacement tags or license plates for your vehicle, you can take a copy of your registration certificate to the local Louisiana OMV. All you will need to do is complete a brief form and then you will receive your new license plates.
Fee For Replacement License Plate Sticker In Louisiana
The standard fee is $10 with an additional $8 handling fee.
However, if you decide to renew your registration via mail and didn’t get your new plates or registration stickers, you can ask for replacements within two months. As long as you make the request within two months, you will get the replacements for free.
Reporting And Replacing A Stolen Louisiana License Plate
As stated above, the Louisiana OMV encourages drivers to file a report for any stolen license plates registration stickers with local law enforcement officials before or after getting your replacements. If you don’t file a police report and someone uses your stolen license plates in an illegal manner, you may become involved in a criminal investigation.
Unfortunately, it is common for drivers to lose their license plates, registration cards, and registration stickers. However, as you can see, the process of replacement registration in the state of Louisiana is a fairly simple process.
For more information about this process, it is recommended to directly contact the nearest Louisiana DMV location.