Updated on July 12, 2021
Arkansas requires its drivers to only have one license plate, as well as registration stickers. New residents to the Natural State have 30 days to register their vehicles, whether it’s a car, pickup truck, motorcycle or other. To register a vehicle, just like most states proof of insurance is needed.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
If you’re caught without auto insurance, first offense can cost you up to $250 is not presented within 10 days. A second one, goes up to $500, while a third time can lead to a $1,000 fine and even one year in jail. Depending on the situation, you can also lose your Arkansas license plate and risk vehicle impoundment if you’re involved in a car crash. If you were stripped away of your registration, there are added fees to reinstating it. Continue reading for more info on Arkansas vehicle tags.
Arkansas Vehicle Registration Renewal Guide
How to Renew A Car Registration In Arkansas
The Office of Motor Vehicles is the division of the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration which is in charge of regulating vehicle registrations and renewals for the state. The OMV will send a registration renewal notice to all vehicle owners in the state at the time that their registration fees are due; when this arrives depends on the original registration date of the vehicle.
The notice will provide you with information about your renewal date and the fees as well as any restrictions that may be required for your registration. Unlike many other areas, the state of Arkansas does not require you to obtain an emissions inspection before you renew your vehicle registration.
Arkansas Vehicle Registration Renewal Options
You can renew your registration by phone, online, by mail or in person in the state of Arkansas.
Drivers who wish to renew online or over the phone will need to complete an electronic assessment before renewing. Additionally, it’s important to note that if you currently owe back taxes you will not be able to renew over the phone or online and must do so by regular mail or in person.
How to Renew Your Registration In Person or By Mail In Arkansas
In order to renew in person or by mail, you only need to show written proof that you have:
- fulfilled your personal property tax assessment OR
- you may show your property receipt for your past taxes OR
- you may show your liability insurance coverage for your vehicle.
Arkansas Registration Renewal Fees
In order to renew your registration either online, by phone, through the mail, or in person, you are going to need your registration renewal notice and your payment for the fees, which varies from one vehicle to another. The exact fee will be on your renewal notice.
How to a Lost Vehicle Registration in Arkansas
Do you have a car registered in Arkansas and need to know how to replace your vehicle registration? Our Arkansas DMV registration replacement guide takes a look at everything surrounding how to replace a lost, damaged or stolen vehicle registration or missing car tag and license plate sticker.
In Arkansas, your driver’s license, car registration, and title are all handled by the Office of Motor Vehicle, part of the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration.
If you have a question and want to talk to a real person, call the Office at 501-682-4692 or check out their website.
Getting a Replacement Car Registration in Arkansas
I lost my vehicle registration paperwork. How do I request a replacement or duplicate registration in Arkansas?
Renewing your registration is not the same as ordering a duplicate or replacement. You can renew your registration online, but you will pay the full renewal fee.
Also, your renewal has a particular identification code that correlates with your registration. If you are missing your registration certificate, you want to have a duplicate sent to you.
How to Apply for a Replacement Car Registration in Arkansas
With the new MyDMV website, ordering a duplicate registration is fast and easy online. But you will wait for it to be mailed to you. If you prefer, you can visit a local revenue office and have one printed out for your immediately.
How to Request Duplicate Vehicle Registration Online
Can you get a replacement vehicle registration online? Yes. The MyDMV website allows Arkansas drivers to easily request replacement paperwork for their vehicle registration if it is lost, stolen, damaged or misplaced.
To complete the replacement registration process in Arkansas, the following items are required:
- The vehicle identification number.
- The license plate number.
- The address listed on the registration.
- Your driver’s license.
- The duplicate registration fee.
You should be in and out of the DMV in short order, as long as there are no long waiting lines that day.
It is encouraged to complete any DMV transaction allowed on the new MyDMV website. Gather the needed documentation listed above, follow the prompts, and one will be mailed to you in a couple weeks.
However, you can still head out to your local revenue office if you prefer.
Arkansas DMV Locations Near Me
Where is the closest Arkansas DMV location?
You will be visiting a Driver Control Office, which is typically combined with your local revenue office. There are 17 offices located throughout the state. Click here to find the one that serves your county.
You can complete your transaction at any of the DCO offices, even if you originally registered your vehicle in a different county.
Arkansas DMV Hours
When are the Arkansas DMV offices open?
Most offices for replacement vehicle registration transactions are open Monday through Friday 8 AM to 4 PM. You will want to call ahead to make sure your smaller office doesn’t close for lunch.
Replacement and Duplicate Registration Fees
How much does it cost for a replacement registration in Arkansas?
You can find a complete list of fees for the Arkansas DMV here. However, prices are subject to change. It is always best to get a quote from the DMV before you go.
The website accepts most major credit cards and electronic checks and the revenue offices also accept cash and check.
How to Replace Lost or Stolen License Plates In Arkansas
If your Arkansas plates have been stolen, notify your local law enforcement immediately. You will need to have a police report filed. Bring the report with you to your local revenue office and apply for duplicate or new plates to be issued.
You will receive temporary tags until your new plates are mailed to you. The duplicate or stolen plate fee will be less than getting new plates for a new car.
Replacing Old License Plates With Custom Specialty Plates
You can apply for a personalized license plate through the Arkansas MyDMV website. If you wish to have a specialty plate that highlights military service or other civic organizations, contact the DMV office in Little Rock for details.
You may be able to have the new plates mailed to you and save a trip to the office.
If you have any other questions about getting a replacement car registration in Arkansas, don’t hesitate to give them a call at 501-682-4692 or use their convenient contact form for an email response.