West Virginia Driver’s License Renewal Guide
What do I need and how do I renew my West Virginia driver’s license? Good questions.
How to Renew a West Virginia Driver’s License
West Virginia driver’s license renewal must be completed within six months of the expiration date. West Virginia adheres to a “Drive for Five” program.
This program ensures that the driver’s license will expire in a year where the licensee’s age is divisible by five (ages 25,30, 35, 40, etc.).
Save Money on Your Auto Insurance Bill, Compare Quotes Fast
How to Apply: Renewing a Drivers License in West Virginia
Renewing a drivers license in West Virginia requires a renewal application. You can apply online or in person.
WV Military Driver’s License Renewal
If you are a military member, you may renew your driver’s license within six months after discharge from active duty.
Military personnel and residents who are temporarily out of the state may renew to receive a certified driving record. The resident will receive a new license upon return to West Virginia.
WV Driver’s License Renewal Requirements
In order to renew your West Virginia driver’s license, you must provide proof of the following:
- Name Change (if applicable)
U.S. citizens must provide a valid U.S. passport, passport card, U.S. State or local government issued Certificate of Birth, or a Certificate of U.S. Citizenship.
Other documents may be provided for special circumstances like naturalization and foreign-born citizens. Non-U.S. citizens will need to provide proof of legal status, such as a valid foreign passport, permanent resident ID card or employment authorization document.
West Virginia REAL ID Driver’s License Requirements
The state of West Virginia issues REAL ID-compliant driver licenses based on the REAL ID Act of 2005. In order to renew with a REAL ID, you would need to provide proof of the following:
- Social Security Number
- Two Proofs of West Virginia Residency
- Name Change (if applicable)
Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Renewal in WV
If you want to renew your commercial driver’s license, there may be additional information needed.
Commercial renewals require a copy of your DOT medical/physical certification and DOT Medical card. City, state, and federal employees are exempt from the DOT physical exam.
You will need proof of city, state, and federal employment in order to show exempt. For a hazardous endorsement, fingerprint and background check from the TSA is mandatory.
West Virginia Driver’s License Tests
West Virginia drivers, including commercial vehicle operators, whose driver’s license has been expired longer than six months must be tested. Vision tests are also administered on location.
Required Driver’s License Renewal Fees
West Virginia renewal fees are based on the number of years you renew at a cost of $5 per year plus $0.50.
This is in accordance with the “Drive for Five” program. REAL ID’s require an additional $10 fee for processing.
The commercial license renewal fee is $25 plus drivers licensing fees. Commercial endorsement fees are $10 each.
Skills tests are $100. The West Virginia DMV accepts cash, checks, debit and credit cards (Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express).
Veteran and Organ Donor License Renewal
West Virginia license renewal can include Veteran and organ donor identifiers. Applicants can choose to have organ donor listed on their REAL ID or non-Federal ID cards.
Veterans would need to verify eligibility with a military ID card or current military license plate registration card in order to do so.
Getting Your New West Virginia Driver’s License
All West Virginia driver licenses are sent through the mail. If you apply in person, you will receive a temporary license at the DMV location and the permanent driver license will be mailed to you.