Updated On July 8, 2021
In 2019, Texas had 17,822,760 licensed drivers—the second highest state with drivers, right after California. Driver licenses are valid for eight years in the Lone Star State. To operate a motorcycle though, a regular licensed driver must also get a Class M license.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
The Texas DMV known as TxDMV registers nearly 24 million vehicles a year, including cars, mopeds and motorcycles, pickup trucks and motorhomes.
As of 2015, Texans don’t have to place inspection stickers on windshields anymore, but still have to inspect their vehicles. If you’re caught using your phone behind the wheel in San Antonio, you could be stuck with a $200 fine; in Austin that fine jumps to $500. Continue reading for more driving in Texas details.
Texas Driver’s License Renewal Guide
How to Renew a Texas Driver’s License
What do I need and how do I renew my Texas driver’s license? Good questions.
Operating a motor vehicle, in the state of Texas without a current, valid license is illegal. Drivers who do so could be subject to costly fines, license suspension, and even jail time.
Also, residents who do not renew on or by the expiration date could be subject to delinquency fees when they do decide to renew.
When Do I Need to Renew My Driver’s License in Texas?
Texas requires residents between the ages of eighteen and eighty-four to renew their driver’s license every six years.
Those ages eighty-five and older, however, must renew every two years. The Texas driver’s license renewal process may be completed anytime within a year before the expiration date of the current license.
Drivers must also visit the Department of Public Safety every twelve years to update their photo, fingerprints, and signature.
Fortunately, the DPS makes renewing a TX driver’s license a quick and easy process to navigate. Drivers may renew online, by mail, by phone, or in person. Online and phone transactions do have specific eligibility requirements.
Online Driver’s License Renewal
To use the online driver’s license renewal tool or renew remotely by phone, drivers must meet the following eligibility requirements:
- Have renewed their license in person the last time (TX drivers can only renew their license online once every two renewal terms).
- Have a valid license that expires no more than one year from the renewal date.
- Not have an expired license of more than two years.
- Have no outstanding warrants or traffic tickets.
- Since their last renewal, not have developed any new medical conditions that could affect their driving ability.
- Reside in Texas.
- Have their Social Security Number on file with the DPS.
Drivers looking to renew a Commercial Driver’s License (DMV) must go in person to renew.
Drivers who meet all of the previously mentioned conditions may go to the Texas Department of Public Safety website or call 1-866-357-3639 to complete the renewal process.
Drivers will also be required to provide their date of birth, audit number, the last four digits of their SSN, and their Texas driver license number.
Required Driver’s License Renewal Fees
Current license renewal fees vary based on age and run as follows:
- Under 18 years old – $6 license renewal fee.
- Between 18-84 years old – $25 license renewal fee.
- 85 years old and older – $9 license renewal fee.
Renewing Your Driver’s License By Mail
Renewal by mail requires that drivers meet the same criteria as described for phone and online renewals. To renew a license by mail, applicants will need to submit:
- Proof of Social Security Number.
- Form DL63 for class C licenses, or form CDL-2 class A or B non-commercial driver’s licenses.
- Scan card (LI 50) for those currently out of state or out of the country.
- Check or money order made payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety for the required driver’s license renewal fee, based on age as outlined above.
The completed forms and documents should then be mailed to:
P.O. Box 15999
Austin, TX 78761-5999
The new license should arrive within four to six weeks.
In Person Driver’s License Renewal
Texas requires drivers to renew in person if falling under any of the following criteria:
- 79 of age or older.
- Non-US citizen and a temporary resident.
- Renewing a provisional driver’s license and under the age of 18.
To renew a Texas driver’s license in person requires that applicants complete Form DL-43, submit their current driver’s license, have a photo taken, and pay the renewal fee.
Additionally, drivers will need to provide proof of identity in the form of – one primary document, two secondary documents, or one secondary document and two supporting documents.
Primary documents include a Texas driver’s license, a current US passport, or a US citizenship certificate.
Secondary documents include a birth certificate, Baptismal certificate, or a court order with the driver’s name and date of birth listed. A Social Security card, W-2 form, and out-of-state driver’s license or ID may be used as supporting documents.
Texas requires that all drivers carry a current license.
Thanks to the six-week reminder, low fees, several easy renewal options, and a two year grace period after expiration, renewing a drivers license in Texas couldn’t be easier.
Scheduling an Appointment to Renew Your Driver’s License
Should you have any further questions regarding how to renew your Texas driver’s license or are interested in scheduling an appointment to renew your TX license in person, contact the DMV location nearest to you.