Updated on July 13, 2021
Fun Fact: Oklahoma is home to the first ever parking meter in the world designed in 1935. OK has 2.5 million licensed drivers and 1.2 million registered vehicles, so parking meters have surely come in handy.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
Despite being fourth in the nation for strictest DUI laws, Oklahoma is on the higher end for DUI fatalities with 16 out of every 165 car accidents related to alcohol use. Tulsa alone has a 20% higher rate for DUI’s than any other county in the state. Drive safe and drive sober! Keep reading for more info on OK driving.
How to Renew Your Oklahoma Driver’s License
How do I renew my Oklahoma driver’s license?
In Oklahoma, a driver’s license is good for four years in most cases, and what to do when wondering how to renew a driver’s license in Oklahoma becomes a good question.
It is a fairly straightforward process. You must get your Oklahoma license renewal in person at a DMV office, providing the paperwork needed and the money for the fees.
There is no provision to so this online. You may renew your Oklahoma driver’s license up to a year before the expiration date.
In some cases you may renew by mail, but generally in person at the DMV is required.
Oklahoma DMV License Renewal
There is a 60-day grace period after the expiration date, when you can get an oklahoma driver’s license renewal without any late fees.
After two years you will have to start over in the process, taking the written test, the driving test and a vision screening.
People get a postcard reminder to renew their Oklahoma License 30 days after the expiration date. You may still get an Oklahoma license renewal for up to two years after the expiration date as long as you still have the license.
Driver’s License Renewal Fees in Oklahoma
While it is required in almost all cases that you renew your license in person, if you are out of state at the time you may renew by mail under certain conditions.
To do this by mail your license must be current and in good standing. You will have to mail in two forms of identification with the completed form and a $38.50 renewal fee.
For standard renewals in person, there is a $33.50 fee. You may renew the license for up to two years after the expiration date. if it is beyond two years you will have to start over as if you never had a license.
If there are any accidents on your driving record, or you have any physical issues, you may have to take the driving test and the written test again when you renew, regardless of the date.
A vision screening is also required any time you get your Oklahoma Drivers license renewal done.
Required Renewal Documents
Oklahoma is not as stringent as some states regarding the paperwork you need. You do have to prove United States citizenship, for instance but only when getting your first license.
You do have to prove Oklahoma residence with two forms of identification. Your license that has not yet expired can be one of those pieces. There are several things that can be used to prove residence, such as mail with your name and address on the envelope.
You may pay for your license with a credit card or check. You must be able to prove your current address if it has changed since your last renewal.
Renewing a Suspended License in Oklahoma
If you have a suspended license, you must get your driving privileges restored or wait until the suspension period ends.
At that point you may renew the license. Oklahoma operates on a points system and that can affect your driving privileges and how you are able to renew your license. To complete the renewal you must have the required paperwork and take the drivers test again.
Military Driver’s License Renewal
People in the military may get an Oklahoma license renewal within 60 days of their discharge from the military and it will not be considered late. You must present a copy of your discharge.
People who are not U.S. citizens renew their license in the same way, but must also provide papers showing they are in the county legally and they must have an in state residence.