Nevada Driver’s License Renewal Guide
How to Renew a Nevada Driver’s License
Renewing your driver’s license in the Silver State is a relatively straightforward process that varies slightly, depending on the renewal method you choose.
There are specific instances when you have to renew your license in person and cannot select another option. However, this is only if you receive written notice of such a condition.
How Do I Renew My Nevada Driver’s License?
In general, you have three options for a Nevada license renewal once you receive your renewal notice.
Renewing Your License By Mail
You can mail in your renewal, if you receive a full-page renewal notice, along with a payment authorization slip.
Exceptions to this rule apply if you’re a member of the armed forces.
Online Driver’s License Renewal
If you receive a full-page renewal notice with an access code, you can renew your license online. This option requires that you setup an online account with the Nevada DMV.
Once the account is established, you are prompted to verify your information and submit payment electronically.
This is one of the easiest and most straightforward methods of handling the renewal process.
Renewing Your Driver’s License In Person
Lastly, you can make an appointment and renew you license in person at the nearest Nevada DMV location. Making an appointment will save you a lot of time when you get to the DMV.
This option may be mandatory if you have to take a written, vision or behind-the-wheel driving test to renew your license.
Early Driver’s License Renewal
You can renew your license early though it may impact the term of your new license.
According to the Nevada DMV, if you renew within six months of your renewal date, the term of your new license will start from the renewal date. If you renew before then your new term will start from an alternative date.
Renewing an Expired Driver’s License
If you decide to renew your license late, it will cost $10 after the license has been expired for 31 days.
If your license has been expired for more than a year, you’ll have to take a written test to get a current license.
Nevada Driver’s License Renewal Requirements
Depending on your age, driving record and situation, you may be eligible for either a 4-year or 8-year license. However, if you have a permit or a specific criminal background, you may have to annually renew.
It’s critical to check with the Nevada DMV to understand the requirements dictated by your current situation and your background. Otherwise you run the risk of missing your renewal date and incurring penalties, when you try to renew.
The Real ID license versus standard license options may require you to renew your license early, depending on your situation.
The renewal process varies by state, making it important for drivers to understand how to renew a Nevada driver’s license.
The renewal process in Nevada makes it easy for you to renew your license in person, by mail or online giving you an array of options gives you the maximum flexibility to renew your license.