Missouri Driver’s License Renewal Guide
Updated on July 19, 2021
Fun fact: Missouri is a landlocked state bordered by eight states. It’s tied with Tennessee for the state with most bordering states. With 277,504 miles to claim, the Cave State is ranked 6th in the nation overall road miles. Surprisingly though, it’s only in the median number of licensed drivers in the U.S. with a little over 4.2 million drivers cruising the streets. As far as motorcycle drivers, only 136,000 registered motorbikes in 2019. Keep reading if you want to learn more about driving in the Cave State!
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
How to Renew a Missouri Driver’s License
The Missouri driver’s license renewal process is pretty straightforward, making it easy to keep your license up to date.
Residents of the state must renew their license with the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR). The DOR does send out renewal notices, but you may not receive yours until fifteen days before your license expires.
This may be cutting it close, especially if you have to provide documentation.
In order to stay legal, and avoid fines for driving with an expired license, take the process into your own hands and complete your Missouri license renewal ahead of time. You can renew your license up to six months before its expiration date.
This guide explains how to renew a Missouri driver’s license.
When to Your Driver’s License
When do I need to renew my driver’s license in Missouri? Good question.
Your Missouri driver’s license expires on your birthday and depending on your age is valid for three or six years. The period of which it is valid depends on your age.
Below shows how long your driver’s license is good for in the state of Missouri based in which age bracket you fall into:
- 3 years if between the age of 18 to 20 or those 70 and older.
- 6 years if between the age of 21 to 69.
If you don’t receive your renewal notice in the mail at least fifteen days before the expiration date of your license, be sure to complete the Missouri license renewal process anyway to avoid having your driver’s license suspended.
Renewing an Expired Driver’s License
If your license has been expired for more than six months, you will need to pass the vision, road sign, written knowledge and driving skills tests again.
Reinstating a Suspended Driver’s License
What do I need to do if my driver’s license has been suspended in Missouri? Am I eligible to renew?
If your license has been suspended, you will have to first take care of any issues, such as outstanding traffic tickets, and then pay a required reinstatement fee before you can complete the Missouri driver’s license renewal process.
If your license has been expired for less than six months, you can renew your license without penalty.
Renewing Your Driver’s License In Person
In Missouri, you must renew your driver’s license in person at your local DMV office. The only exception to this rule is for active duty military members and their spouses or dependents who are stationed outside of the State of Missouri.
Out-of-state military members and their dependent family members can take care of their Missouri license renewal by mail.
Before heading to the DOR office, gather the following documents to avoid making several trips and delaying your renewal.
If your license is expired beyond six months or has been suspended, you may have to provide proof of your name, date and place of birth.
If your license is valid, you can skip this step and move on to providing your Social Security number and proof of address.
Required License Renewal Documents
To provide proof of your name, date and place of birth to the Missouri DMV, you can use several types of documents including:
- Certified U.S. birth certificate.
- Valid or expired U.S. passport.
- U.S. Certificate of Citizenship, Naturalization or Birth Abroad.
- Verification of Your Social Security Number.
Your Social Security number can be provided either verbally or by presenting your Social Security card. Proof of address is also required for Missouri residents.
Acceptable address verification documents include:
- Driver’s license renewal postcard.
- Recent utility bill.
- Pay stub.
- Bank statement.
- Rental, lease or mortgage contract.
Driver’s who are not citizens of the U.S. and are attempting to complete their Missouri driver’s license renewal must provide immigration documents that show their current status.
Required License Renewal Fees
The fee to renew a six-year Missouri driver’s license is $35. The three-year required renewal fee is $17.50.
If your Missouri driver’s license is set to expire soon, don’t wait.
The process can be simple if your license is still valid but can become more complicated and expensive the longer you let it go. Don’t wait to receive your renewal notice. Take action from this guide and complete your Missouri license renewal before your license expires.
Scheduling a DMV Appointment
Scheduling an appointment with the Missouri DMV location nearest to you can help save time if choosing to renew your license in person.
Should you have more questions regarding how to renew your license or schedule an appointment, it is recommended to contact your local driver’s license renewal agency or DMV office.