Louisiana Driver’s License Renewal Guide
How to Renew a Louisiana Driver’s License
Your Louisiana driver’s license is valid for six years and it must be renewed before the expiration date, which also coincides with your birthday.
Licensed drivers in LA state can renew up to 180 days before the expiration date. The following will show you how to renew a Louisiana driver’s license.
What Do I Need to Renew My LA Driver’s License?
To complete your Louisiana driver’s license renewal, you’ll need your current driver’s license or another valid document establishing your identity and legal residency, as well as your Social Security card.
You’ll also need to provide proof of liability insurance for any vehicle you own.
If you’re renewing with the intention of receiving a REAL ID drivers license, you’ll need to bring one primary and two secondary documents to establish your identity and two documents verifying your home address.
Driver’s License Renewal Options
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles will send a renewal notice by mail within 100 days of your current driver license’s expiration date.
The renewal notice will contain information stating whether you’re eligible to complete your Louisiana driver’s license renewal online, in person or by mail.
If you don’t receive a renewal notice, you must renew your drivers license in person at the nearest DMV Field Office.
Once you’ve renewed, you’ll receive a temporary license to use until your permanent driver’s license arrives in the mail.
Online Driver’s License Renewal
You can complete your Louisiana driver’s license renewal online by visiting the Louisiana DMV’s renewal website. You’ll need to have your current driver’s license along with a valid credit card for payment.
Simply follow the instructions listed on the screen to finish the renewal process.
Renewing Your Driver’s License By Mail
You can renew your Louisiana driver’s license by mail if you meet the following conditions:
- Under 70 years old.
- Current license isn’t suspended, lost or stolen
- Current license hasn’t been expired for more than 12 months
- You have previously renewed your driver’s license in person
If you meet all of the above requirements, you’ll receive a mail-in renewal invitation as a part of your renewal notice.
You can also renew your driver’s license by mail if you’re currently out of state or out of the country due to military deployment.
You’ll need to write a letter that includes the information on your drivers license, your current out-of-state or overseas address and a copy of your military ID and mail it to the OMV office in Baton Rouge.
Renewing Your Driver’s License In Person
You can renew your driver’s license in person by visiting your nearest Louisiana DMV Field Office.
You’ll need to renew in person if you didn’t receive a renewal notice in the mail, need to retake a test or change personal information on your drivers license or completed your previous renewal by mail or online.
Renewing an Expired License in Louisiana
The state of Louisiana offers a 10-day grace period which you can use to renew your drivers license after the expiration date without incurring any penalties.
If you perform your Louisiana license renewal after the grace period ends, you’ll be subject to a $15.00 late fee and a possible traffic citation.
If your driver’s license expires while your driving privileges are suspended, you’ll need to complete the entire suspension before you can renew.
Louisiana License Renewal Fees
The Office of Motor Vehicles charges $32.25 to renew a Class E personal license with a local service fee of up to $6.00 added in some areas.
The Louisiana DMV also charges a $15.00 late fee if your driver’s license is expired for longer than 10 calendar days.
If you’re over 70 years of age, you’ll only pay $18.75 plus local service fees and you won’t be charged any late fees if your license is renewed late.