Arkansas Driver’s License Renewal Guide
Updated On July 10, 2021
The Natural State is known for its long, winding roads, and breathtaking views. Home to the popular scenic route, Highway 23, better known as the “Pig Trail”, Arkansas registered 2.1 million licensed drivers in 2019. Of those drivers, only 41% registered vehicles with the state.
Use eTags© to Quickly Complete Your DMV Service. Renewals, Title Transfers and More, All Online!
Expiration: If your Arkansas license has expired, you can’t legally operate a vehicle until it’s renewed, but on the bright side, there’s no fee or fine for the expiration.
Suspension: If your Arkansas driver’s license is suspended, a renewal can’t take place until you’ve met all requirements for reinstatement.
How to Renew a Driver’s License in Arkansas
What do I need to renew my license in Arkansas? Good question
Everybody has to renew their driver’s license. If you live in Arkansas, you have come to the right place to learn all about what you need to get this errand done.
Driver’s licenses are issued in Arkansas by the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration or the DFA.
Their website is an excellent source of information and can help you with almost any motor vehicle-related issue, including questions about insurance, registration, ID cards, and of course your drivers license.
Arkansas DMV License Renewal Locations
Arkansas requires that you visit a Revenue Office in order to renew your license. They are located throughout the state with many counties hosting more than one.
The offices are typically open 8 AM to 5 PM and are closed on holidays and weekends. You may want to give your local office a call to check on wait times before you go, especially if it is in a larger city.
Replacing Your Drivers License
If you lost your license, or need to make an address change, you will still need to visit your local revenue office.
The fee for a replacement is just $10. You will need two forms of identification in order for the license to be issued.
Can You Renew Online in Arkansas?
Unfortunately, Arkansas does not offer any online services in regards to Arkansas license renewal.
You may find a third-party online that offers license renewal applications for a fee, but you will still end up going to the office and paying the regular state fee to obtain your license. It is better to skip that online application.
Out-of-State License Renewal in Arkansas
If you are serving in the military or are out of state when your license is due to expire, you may be eligible for an Arkansas drivers license renewal through the mail. You must call 501-682-7059 to see if you qualify and for further information.
Arkansas Driver’s License Renewal Requirements
If you have your current drivers license, it is good as your first form of identification. You will need a second form of ID. Eligible secondary forms of ID include:
- School ID or Work Photo ID
- Vehicle Registration
- Unexpired License from Another State
- Medical Insurance Card
- School Record
- Military Discharge Paperwork
- Marriage License
- IRS Tax Form
For a complete list of acceptable forms of identification, check here.
Is there a Vision Test?
Yes, you will have to pass a vision test each time that you renew your license.
How much does it cost to renew your license in Arkansas?
The current fee for a Class D drivers license renewal is $40. The license is good for eight years once you are over the age of 21.
Is my Arkansas driver’s license valid for travel?
There is a driver’s license that does comply with the new federal Real ID guidelines. When you renew you have the option of getting the Voluntary Enhanced Security DL which will be accepted as a valid form of ID when you are flying a commercial airline.
If you decide not to get the Enhanced Security DL, you will have to show additional identification when flying.
Graduated License? How to Obtain Your Regular License
If you are under the age of 18, you have a graduated license which has some restrictions associated with it.
Once you turn 18, you can go to any Revenue Office and apply for your regular unrestricted Arkansas drivers license as long as you have been accident-free for the past 12 months.
Had an Accident? How Long Do You Have to Wait for Your Unrestricted License?
If you still have a graduated license and had a major accident or traffic violation, you will need to be accident-free for a full 12 months before you are eligible for unrestricted status.
Senior Citizen Driver’s License Renewal Restrictions
Currently, there are no additional restrictions for senior drivers. When renewing they will need to pass the vision test and comply with any restrictions their doctor might deem necessary.